N.S.L: WEEK 75 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: Gradient Mesh and 3D

I haven’t taken the Gradient Mesh Tool for a spin since NSL week 65. I wanted to jump back into it because I been walking around with this idea rattling around in my head:

Adobe Illustrator Gradient Mesh
“Chrome Faucet” Gradient Mesh and 3D

After using the Gradient Mesh Tool for NSL 65 on vegetables, I’ve been thinking about using it on metal surfaces. Almost every morning I look at my faucet and wonder how I could recreate it in Adobe Illustrator and above is what I came up with =D

****

3D Adobe Illustrator
One of the coolest things I learned was how to use the Rearrange Artboards feature. In this image you can see the image I used as a template and others that I haven’t gotten to yet.

****

Adobe Illustrator Gradient Mesh

If you made a custom shape using a drawing tool then wondered why you couldn’t apply a gradient mesh to it, you need to visit the Attributes Panel and show your center! =D

I tried making my own shapes with the drawing tools but I didn’t get great results. All the vids I saw suggest starting out with a circle or a square. I got better results when I did it that way.

****

Adobe Illustrator Gradient Mesh

Mesh Only

****

Adobe Illustrator Gradient Mesh Wire Frame

I figured I’d show you what the outline of the mesh looks like. It’s not pretty but it works. This was my 3th attempt at the same piece.

****

3D effect on with gradient mesh

I ended up adding some 3D to the sensor and I really like how it came out. It’s subtle but looks clean.

****

In the final version of the image, I used a technique I saw on Twitter posted by @bojansavke. It’s the text effect that looks like a drop shadow on invisible text.  It worked GREAT, check out the tutorial here:
How to simulate fill opacity with type (text) in Illustrator

****

Most Helpful Video:Gradient Mesh Tutorial

****

I got most of my info from Lynda.com
Illustrator CS5 One-on-One: Mastery
Illustrator CS6 Essential Training
Illustrator CS6 One-on-One: Advanced

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
If you look up #NSL75 you should be able to follow my week and all of the videos I studied for this one.

****

I used Google Images to find the picture I used as a template for my gradient mesh. The image was from:
http://www.hygoletdirect.com/Water-Conservation-Products/c22/index.html

6 responses to “N.S.L: WEEK 75 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: Gradient Mesh and 3D

  1. Hello, Great Post! I was a Corel Draw user, and now already moved to Adobe Illustrator. I am still learning and making vector art for my WebSite. Your post helps me to understand more about gradient Mesh. Thank you very much 🙂

Leave a comment