#WacomWed wk.31 “Peter Murphy” and “Kendrick Lamar” DynamicSketch and Blob Brush

I finally got this guy finished up!!! =D

Peter Murphy in Adobe Illustrator
“Peter Murphy” by Sebastian Bleak

I’ve been working on Peter Murphy for a while, but I learned a lot. I created this in Adobe Illustrator CC 2014 with DynamicSketch by Astute Graphics on my Wacom IntuosPro design tablet.

The reason I spent so much time on this one was that I was intimidated by the hair. I kept working on other parts or I’d make excuses to put it off longer. In this session I realized that I should have just plowed on thru it. The reason I say that is, I kept looking at it and wanting to start all over. My drawing style has changed a bit since I started this project and I can tell the difference between how the hair was drawn in comparison to the rest of the illustration. I also realized I was beginning to take these TOO serious. This is just meant to be a practice session to get my chops up. Getting in a couple of sessions with Justin brought be back to the fun of the project.

****

Kendrick Lamar in Adobe Illustrator CC 2014
“Kendrick Lamar” by Justin Brown

I was really blown away when I looked up and saw that Justin had created this awesome Kendrick Lamar =D  Here’s what Justin Brown had to say:

“This time I wanted to try something different. I am currently working on how to get proper shadows for shading. Instead of using only colors for shading, I decided to use patterns.”

****

Digital drawing session
Wacom Wednesday session in Korea Town Los Angeles

When possible, do this! I guess it should be with the right people though. Justin was up for another #WacomWED session and it was a BLAST! He’s easy to work with, just put on some tunes and he’s on the grind. I end up just wanting to keep up with him. For me, it makes me step my game up, I get more focused and I’m exposed to different solutions or approaches. I lean even more when I work in a group like this. Give it a shot! It’s fun! Plus it’s a chance to eat junk food. That’s a Cheese Wit next to Justin’s mouse. A double bacon burger with extra cheese was in that wrapper until it met it’s end =D

****

You can follow more of Justin’s works here:

Creative Outlaws Tumblr

****

I used the Dynamic Sketch Tool by Astute Graphics

and my IntuosPro & Artpen from Wacom:

****

If you would like to know more about #WacomWED, make sure to check out the first post here:

Wacom Wednesday #1 “Wolf Sketch”

****

Checkout:

SebastianBleak- Youtube Tutorials
Never Stop Learning
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#WacomWED #AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

One response to “#WacomWed wk.31 “Peter Murphy” and “Kendrick Lamar” DynamicSketch and Blob Brush

  1. Pingback: Wacom Wednesday: Peter Murphy - Astute Graphics

Leave a comment