NSL WEEK 242- Adobe Photoshop “Oil Paint Filter”

The Return of the Oil Paint Filter in Adobe Photoshop CC 2015!

We had this feature back in CS6, but it went away for a bit. Now it’s BACK! and lookin slick!

****

Adobe Photoshop CC 2015

Adobe Photoshop CC 2015.1.2
In this version of Photoshop you’ll find “Oil Paint” in the Filter menu.

****

Creative Cloud Photoshop

The new window looks slick! Use the brush section to define the appearance. If you turn the Lighting off, you get more of an airbrushed look. It’s awesome.

****

In my workflow, I’d use multiple Oil Paint filters for 1 image. I don’t like how uniform this looks as a global effect. Looking at this image I think I would use 1 for the hair, 1 for his face, 1 for his shirt and 1 for the background. If you’d like to see a video of that, leave me a message in the comments. If 3 or more ask for it, I’ll make it happen. Ive been doing a bunch of videos showing the basics of tools but I’m up for doing workflow stuff too if you want to see that.

****

Oh! I use photoshop on 2 PC’s and 2 Mac’s. My iMac can’t update to the LATEST version of Photoshop and my Creative Cloud Manager says I’m up-to-date. I think I don’t have access to 2015.1.2 because I’m on OX 10.9.3. Once I upgrade I’m sure it’ll kick in.

****

Checkout: SebastianBleak.Tumblr

www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter: @SebastianBleak #AdobeGrind #NSL  Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

Leave a Reply

