NSL WEEK 217- Adobe Illustrator “Clipping Mask”

Please don’t go crazy with these! =D

There’s a lot of power in using Clipping Masks in Adobe Illustrator but I have seen some files that had WAY too many and for no reason. Check out the video above for the basics on how to crop an image.

****

Adobe Illustrator Clipping Mask
Make Clipping Mask

Create a selection with your artwork and clipping path. Right click and choose “Make Clipping Mask”. You can also hit Comm + 7 on your keyboard.

****

Adobe Illustrator Live Text
Live Text and Bitmap Image

I didn’t realize you could create a mask from live text. I normally would turn my text into outlines but I guess I don’t have to any more.

****

Venice Beach
Comm + 7 = Clipping Mask

For me, this is a WAY better workflow. I like being able to edit this easily.

****

Adobe Illustrator Text
New Font

Super easy to swap out the font on for my clipping mask.

****

Checkout: SebastianBleak.Tumblr

www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter: @SebastianBleak #AdobeGrind #NSL  Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

Leave a Reply

