N.S.L: WEEK 164 – Adobe Photoshop CC 2014 “Layers Stack: Arrange”

This time I’m focusing on the stack that is inside of the Layers Panel. As my files get more complicated, I find the need to navigate through this panel easier.

Targeting and arranging layers in the Layers Panel

When you’re working on these types of files, it speeds things up knowing the different ways to target and rearrange your Layers.

****

Check out the video above, the hope is that you’ll find something that will speed up your workflow. I do not go over every shortcut or function, but I went over the functions I use in my workflow. You can rearrange your layers manually, using menu options, and keyboard shortcuts. All of that is covered in the video.

****

Keyboard shortcuts in Adobe Photoshop CC 2014
Layers Panel with multiple layers. None targeted

Here is the Layers Panel with multiple layers. In this shot, none of them are targeted. You can target them by hovering over them and clicking on them.

****

Adobe Photoshop Creative Cloud 2014
Arrange functions are found in the Layer menu

If you have layers targeted, you can use the Layer menu to complete some of the re-stacking functions. I like going in there to find the functions and get reminded of what the keyboard shortcuts are. Each time I go in there, I don’t even click on the function. I like to read the shortcut, back out, and key in the shortcut. That’s the way I learn them. It’s a little tough in the beginning but you’ll be faster in the end.

****

I’m a big fan of Twitter! That’s where I was able to find the information that really got me excited about this topic:

DesignEasy

“Cycling Through & Moving Layers Stack from Keyboard”

****

If you want to know all of the shortcuts, just follow this link:

“Keys for the Layers Panel”

****

Checkout: SebastianBleak.Tumblr

www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter: @SebastianBleak #AdobeGrind #NSL #WacomWED  Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

Leave a Reply

