N.S.L: WEEK 157 – Adobe Illustrator CC 2014: “Updated Pencil Tool Workflow”

I’m officially in my 3rd year of this Never Stop Learning project!

When I first started out, I didn’t think it was possible for me to draw in Adobe Illustrator, especially with the Pencil Tool. I was wrong! =D

****

Alt/Option functions in Adobe Illustrator CC 2014
Alt/Option functions in Adobe Illustrator CC 2014

Recently we have seen some changes in the Creative Cloud for the Pencil Tool. At first, I’ll admit, I was not happy at all. Now that I have had a chance to play with it a bit more, I’m starting to understand how these changes can be beneficial. I wish they left the sliders how they functioned in CS6, but I understand that Adobe wanted to simplify things for the users.

The focus this week was on the workflow with modifiers. After CS6, the removal the Alt modifier to activate the Smooth Tool caused a bit of a ruckus. I wasn’t to happy at first either. Now I like that we have the ability to use the Alt key to create a straight segment when needed. I missed the Smooth Tool workflow at first, but then I realized I just have to redraw. That’s ever BETTER! I don’t have to change tools. I just have to go over my path again to clean things up.

****

Pencil Tool Options in Adobe Illustrator CC 2014
Pencil Tool Options in Adobe Illustrator CC 2014

If you want any success with the Pencil Tool, you must go into the options panel and adjust the tool to fit your project. To access the options just double click on the Pencil Tool icon in the Tools Panel or you can hit Enter/Return on your keyboard with you have the Pencil Tool activated. Play around with all the buttons and sliders WITHOUT fear. You can always hit the Reset button to bring things back to the default settings.

****

 I don’t know how long I’m going to do this project  but I don’t feel like stopping just yet. I did want to make sure I did this for 100 weeks, then once I hit that goal, I went for 150. Now that I’m at 3 years, I don’t feel pressure to continue, but I want to. There are so many benefits to this practice!

****

Checkout: SebastianBleak.Tumblr

www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter: @SebastianBleak #AdobeGrind #NSL #WacomWED  Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

One response to “N.S.L: WEEK 157 – Adobe Illustrator CC 2014: “Updated Pencil Tool Workflow”

  1. Pingback: NSL: Adobe Illustrator CC 2014 - Updated Pencil Tool Workflow - Astute Graphics

Leave a Reply

