#WacomWed wk.32 “Lily Munster” DynamicSketch IntuosPro

I’m having fun watching old shows that I used to like to watch as a kid. Lily Munster was a BIG deal to me back in the day =D Huge crush!

Lily Munster from The Munsters in Adobe Illustrator
“Lily Munster” by Sebastian Bleak

Whenever I go into one of these vector traces, I get a bit intimidated mostly because I’m a fan. Or maybe it’s because it’s such a recognizable person. Either way, each week it get’s a little bit easier. The more I practice, the more comfortable I get with using the tools and hardware.

****

This week I felt like I was more focused on the set-up rather than the actual drawing. People often ask me “Which tool should I use to draw?” The answer, in my opinion, is always “It depends on the project.” I can’t tell you that the Blob Brush is better than the Art Brush or that DynamicSketch is the best of all. I think it really depends on the look you’re going for and what you are used to using. I don’t think a pencil is better than water color  or oils. Each medium is going to give you a different look and that’s good =)

****

So, how to decide? I don’t know =D What’s working for me is this project. I just keep drawing in different styles and I learn a lot from each session. Every couple of weeks I try to do something different. If you look at #WacomWED as a whole, you’ll see some doodles, sketches, and cleaner illustrations. I’m hoping by trying out different tools and techniques, I’ll learn more techniques. I recently suggested, to my friends, to draw the same subject with all the different tools available in Adobe Illustrator. It’s the same practice they make you do in a Life Drawing class. It’s working out pretty good for me but I got a long way to go.

****

I used the Dynamic Sketch Tool by Astute Graphics

and my IntuosPro & Artpen from Wacom:

****

If you would like to know more about #WacomWED, make sure to check out the first post here:

Wacom Wednesday #1 “Wolf Sketch”

****

Checkout:

SebastianBleak- Youtube Tutorials
Never Stop Learning
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#WacomWED #AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

One response to “#WacomWed wk.32 “Lily Munster” DynamicSketch IntuosPro

  1. Pingback: Wacom Wednesday: Lily Munster - Astute Graphics

Leave a Reply

