#WacomWed wk.30 “Grandpa Munster” and “Raven” DynamicSketch and Blob Brush

This was the first time I got to meet up with someone for a #WacomWED session =D

I ended up drawing out Grandpa Munster and Justin (Creativ Outlaws Apparel) got to try a Wacom Tablet for the first time. He drew the Raven you see further down in the post.

Grandpa Munster Vector Illustration in Adobe Illustrator
“Grandpa Munster” by Sebastian Bleak

All of this is done in Adobe Illustrator CC with the help of Wacom IntuosPros and DynamicSketch by Astute Graphics.

For my drawing, I started out using the Blob Brush, mainly  because I wanted to go back to the Sharpie look a bit. Each time I use this technique I learn something new. Obviously! It seems like I’m getting the settings down. I can get to them faster and I have a better idea on what they do. What I was really picking up on, was the directions and shapes of my brush strokes. I set up the Blob Brush to work as a Calligraphic Brush with pressure sensitivity. I also dropped the opacity and changed the blending mode to Multiply. I had a great time getting lost in the lines. Mostly I enjoy creating things that do not look like Illustrator, straight away. Illustrator is a HUGE world! It’s more than just the Pen Tool. I ended with DynamicSketch because it was the best tool for drawing out large areas of color. The best part was creating abstract shapes for the blurred out shadows on the shirt and face… I almost forgot! Then I used Stylism to control my Gaussian Blurs of those shadows =D

****

Raven Vector Illustration in Adobe Illustrator CC
“Raven” by Justin Brown

This was Justin’s first run at the Wacom! I think he did a great job! I was WAY more intimidated by it on my first try. I gave him a 30min demo on the Blob Brush, DynamicSketch, and how to use the tablet. After that I tried to just let him play around with it. I went on to draw my stuff and what you see above is what we ended up with. I asked Justin to write up a lil something about his experience and this is what he said:

“If I was to say anything next to my image, all I would say is that this was my first time legitimately using a wacom… and stuff.”

****

Wacom Intuos Pro Design Tablet
#WacomWED session

This is a fun way to step your game up! Not just with vectors, but with drawing or whatever you’re into. I went over to the homies spot and hung out for a bit to get in a draw session. It was great! No pressure, just for fun.

You can see my Peter Murphy, I’ve been working on, in the background. I’ve been doing a little bit at a time on it every Wednesday. Now I have to put some hair on that guy!!!

****

You can follow more of Justin’s works here:

Creative Outlaws Tumblr

****

I used the Dynamic Sketch Tool by Astute Graphics

and my IntuosPro & Artpen from Wacom:

****

If you would like to know more about #WacomWED, make sure to check out the first post here:

Wacom Wednesday #1 “Wolf Sketch”

****

Checkout:

SebastianBleak- Youtube Tutorials
Never Stop Learning
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#WacomWED #AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

Leave a Reply

