N.S.L: WEEK 151 – Adobe Illustrator CC: “Opacity Mask Workflow Updated w/Phantasm”

Last week I showed you how to create Distressed text in Adobe Photoshop so I figured I’d show you how to do it in Adobe Illustrator. I changed things up a bit since I did it in NSL week 96 so I thought I’d bring you up to speed =)

Opacity Masks in Adobe Illustrator CC
My updated workflow with Opacity Masks

I like to use an Opacity Mask to create distressed text in Adobe Illustrator. Back in week 96 I showed you how to use a linked image and Adobe Photoshop to edit your Opacity Masks to create different effects. This week I’ll show you my current workflow where I use Phantasm by Astute Graphics, I keep it all in Adobe Illustrator, and the best part is that I can see my changes as I make them.

****

The video above will show you my current workflow for creating distressed text in Adobe Illustrator. I do use the Phantasm plugin for this technique.

****

The video above will show you how to use an Opacity Mask using Photoshop and a Placed Image. I no longer use this technique because I prefer the one mentioned above but it is still very useful to those that prefer to work with Adobe Photoshop.

****

The reason I wanted to post this is to show folks that my workflow continues to evolve. I run into students that think there is only one way for you to complete a task.

“This is the way I was taught.”
“This is how I’ve been doing it all along.”

Although I use the Phantasm technique most of the time, I still have the Photoshop technique for situations where I don’t have access to Phantasm. With multiple techniques, I feel UNSTOPPABLE! =D Please have a look at them both and I hope you find some use for them or maybe it will give you an idea for a different technique that works for you.

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly #WacomWED
 Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

Leave a Reply

