#WacomWed wk.29 “James T. Kirk” and “Joan Holloway” w/ DynamicSketch in Adobe Illustrator

Shout out to Freehand Profit!!! He said since I did Spock, I had to do James =D

Star Trek Captain Kirk Vector Illustration

“Captain James T. Kirk” by Sebastian Bleak

So I jumped on Hulu and re-watched some episodes from the beginning. I got it stuck in my head that I wanted to use a shot from Season 1 Episode 1. 1st I thought it would be appropriate to use the shot when they finally introduce the captain. After watching a couple episodes, I thought it would be best to get a shot when he first got upset =D I call the shot “Not Playin” because he was going off on the Professor. He was saying “.. I’ll have it or I’ll have your skin. Or both!” Check out the episode I saw by following this link:

http://www.hulu.com/watch/283824

One thing that I’ll take away with this session is that you HAVE TO WALK AWAY from your piece. I just sat down and knocked this out in one sitting. The next day, when I checked it out again, that’s when I noticed the harsh shadows over the eyes. They are from the original shot, but I needed to tone them down a bit. It looked fine to me the whole time I was working on it. Once I got a pair of fresh eyes on it, all I could think was “How the heck did I miss that?” There are other “mistakes” that I should have picked up on but I didn’t walk away.

****

Kyle Haro created this Joan Holloway from Mad Men

Mad Men Joan Holloway Vector Illustration

“Joan Holloway” by Kyle Haro

With the final season of  “Mad Men” in full affect, here is part 5 of Kyle’s portraits of the main characters, Christina Hendricks as “Joan Holloway”.  Like the other portraits, this was done all in Illustrator using the Wacom Intuos 4 tablet and the “Dynamic Sketch” plug-in from Astute Graphics.

You can check out Kyle Haro’s portfolio here:

www.behance.net/kyleharo

****

I used the Dynamic Sketch Tool by Astute Graphics

and my IntuosPro & Artpen from Wacom:

****

If you would like to know more about #WacomWED, make sure to check out the first post here:

Wacom Wednesday #1 “Wolf Sketch”

****

Checkout:

SebastianBleak- Youtube Tutorials
Never Stop Learning
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#WacomWED #AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

Leave a Reply

