#WacomWed wk.26 “Elvira: Mistress of the Dark” DynamicSketch w/ Wacom IntuosPro in Adobe Illustrator

This week, it’s all about the ladies =P
This week I spent some time with my first and last crush, Cassandra Peterson aka Elvira, Mistress of the Dark:

Elvira Vector Illustration in Adobe Illustrator CC
Elvira: Mistress of the Dark

I’m actually going to print this up as a t-shirt for myself. I’ve been a HUGE fan my whole life so I thinks it’s fitting to make myself a badass shirt. I had fun rewatching her movies while drawing this out. As a kid, I KNEW I was going to marry her =D Now I just see that this character messed me up for future relationships =P

****

The image I used for this Vector Trace was a screen shot from the movie Mistress of the Dark. If you’ve ever seen it, it’s when she’s first trying to check into the Cozy Cot Motel and the old lady is giving Elvira a hard time. I liked this shot because she’s kinda like “Yup, this is me. This is what I look like”. I can totally relate.

****

Kyle Haro is a big champ and sent over an Illustration he created for this weeks #WacomWED

Adobe Illustrator Peggy Olsen
Peggy Olsen- Mad Men

As a big fan of the show and an even bigger fan of the adverts for Mad Men, I’m sure Kyle had a blast putting this together. I thought it was funny that we both ended up drawing a lady from something we recently watched on TV.

You can check out Kyle Haro’s portfolio here:

www.behance.net/kyleharo

****

The crazy part about my Elvira drawing is that this was not my first attempt at drawing her. In week 6 I wanted to draw her and I even tried for a couple of hours. I couldn’t come up with ANYTHING. I straight CHOKED, scrapped the project and ended up drawing out a Rooster. I REALLY liked how the Rooster came out but I always felt bad that I basically got stage fright and switched up my plans. All of the detail, especially the hair, was just too much for me at the time. I had no idea as to how I should approach the project.

This is embarrassing for me to share, but I kept at it, drawing something new each week. Now, 20 weeks later, I learned enough and now had the confidence to give it another try. I’m VERY happy with how this version came out. I think she looks a bit like Emma Hill from The Following. Maybe because I was watching that show all day…. My hope is that if you’re reading this and you run into the same problem, my story will help you give it another try.

Check Out Elvira: Mistress of the Dark on Hulu.
( http://www.hulu.com/watch/418178 )

****

I used the Dynamic Sketch Tool by Astute Graphics

and my IntuosPro & Artpen from Wacom:

****

If you would like to know more about #WacomWED, make sure to check out the first post here:

Wacom Wednesday #1 “Wolf Sketch”

****

Checkout:

SebastianBleak- Youtube Tutorials
Never Stop Learning
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#WacomWED #AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

2 responses to “#WacomWed wk.26 “Elvira: Mistress of the Dark” DynamicSketch w/ Wacom IntuosPro in Adobe Illustrator

Leave a Reply

