N.S.L: WEEK 141 – Illustrator CC: “Document Raster Effects Settings” Gaussian Blur

I keep telling people that some of the fun in using this design software is the hunt! It’s like playing Zelda =D
Well I knocked on the wall and found this little gem:

Adobe Illustrator

Document Raster Effects Settings with Gaussian Blur

I remember trying to use the Gaussian Blur Effect in Adobe Illustrator

, hating my result and then deciding Never To Use It Again… I learned how to actually use it and it’s FANTASTIC =D

Check out the video above to see what I’m talking about.

****

Adobe Illustrator Effects

Applying Gaussian Blur- bad result

This is what you get by default if you increase your effect after a programmed area. You end up being trapped in a box and not able to use the Gaussian Blur Effect to it’s full potential.

****

Adobe Illustrator Rastor Effects Settings

Change settings in this panel to match your artwork

If you go into the Effects Menu, you’ll find this panel to update the settings and get better results for YOUR artwork. Mine was set to 32px, and that’s why you can see the effect getting cut off here even after reducing the blur effect.

****

Adobe Illustrator Gausian Blur

After changing the settings.

After expanding the area for my Effects. You want to keep this number as low as possible so your computer can run more efficiently.

****

I got my info from talking shop with a friend =D After that I checked out this video:

Increasing the raster resolution of your document

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly #WacomWED
If you look up #NSL141 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post. Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

Leave a Reply

