#WacomWed wk.21 “California Bear” Blob Brush Marker Style

When I sat down to figure out “What am I going to draw?” I just looked outside. It was a sunny California day, so for some reason, the bear from our flag came to mind and I went at it!

AiCC Vector Artwork
“California Bear” aka Golden Bear

I wanted to keep going with the messy look. I used the Blob Brush to get a marker effect. I really felt like I was carving out the image more than anything. I enjoy looking at this image from a distance.  I just kept picturing a Golden Bear.

****

Anchor Points
Illustration in Outline Mode showing almost 30K anchor points.

This looks pretty much like what I was going for. I had a lot of fun making a mess of things. I don’t normally count the anchor points so I don’t even know if that is a large amount =D

****
I’ve been told several times this week “I never know what to draw.” So I say draw what’s on your mind, draw what you see, draw what you haven’t drawn, and zoom in! Think of a cool noun, then draw it =D Go back to your life drawing classes, just draw what’s around you. Draw that shoe that you should have put away. Not interesting enough? Zoom in and draw a portion of the shoe and draw all of the details.

****
I don’t even know why I’ve been drawing animals so much lately. I think it’s because it’s so different from what I’ve done in the years past. I don’t even see them as animals though. I’m trying to create a character or feeling but my actor just happens to be an animal. I guess it might be time to switch things up soon so it won’t be so predictable. I haven’t tried to draw a car in a while, because I find them intimedating, so I should probably start there. I have some celebrities in mind too, but not sure if the time is right just yet.
****
In order to have a que of “Things To Draw” I keep a peice of paper in my pocket and when something pops in my mind, I just write it down. If I draw it, it gets crossed out. When I’m cruising the interwebs, I sometimes come across a pic I like. I’ll save the pic in a folder titled “Draw Me”. Now I have 2 areas I can pull ideas from. I’m saying all of this in hopes you’ll pick up your tablet and start drawing or try out one of the beginners tools that are out there. Creating digital illustrations has become a lot more fun now that I put away my soap-on-a-rope, aka the Mouse (Hi RS).
****

If you would like to know more about #WacomWED, make sure to check out the first post here:

Wacom Wednesday #1 “Wolf Sketch”

****

Checkout:

SebastianBleak- Youtube Tutorials
Never Stop Learning
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#WacomWED #AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

Leave a Reply

