N.S.L: WEEK 134 – Photoshop CC: “Image Size Update”

So many cool updates for Adobe Photoshop in the Creative Cloud and I was super excited about the changes they made to the Image Size panel =D

Image Size Panel

“Ninja Toy” upsample image

It probably doesn’t sound like the most exciting of the bunch, especially will Perspective Warp in the mix, but I use this panel ALL THE TIME. 

****

Ctrl + Alt + I
or
Comm + Option + I

Preview Image Size Panel- Photoshop

Click to see large pixels, no resampling.

I like being able to click in the preview window to toggle between a view of the big pixels simply stretched and a view of Photoshops new algorithm at work. It allows me to focus on areas that are high priority and make sure I’m getting the look I want.

****

Image Size- PhotoshopCC

Resize the preview panel

The update I was waiting for was the ability to change the size of the preview window. Prior to this update, the window was not of much use to me. It was too small to see the actual affect my changes were making. Now I can blow it up to the size of my screen if I want. The advantage, I have a better understanding of the changes I’m making. That’s efficiency!

****

Algorithm- Resample

“Preserve Details” new algorithm

Most impressive is the magic of the algorithm. There is a better Resample method! If you don’t want to worry about what each of them does, like me, just leave it on Automatic and you should be fine for most occasions. In the previous versions we would use Bicubic Smoother for enlarging images. That worked okay but it would really soften up your image by blurring the edges. Now, if you leave it on Automatic, Photoshop will use Preserve Details for the enlargement and you get a much better result. My understanding, they rebuilt the “Engine” (algorithm), now it’s better but they still give you the option to use the old method if you choose to do so.

****

I got my info from Lynda.com:

Photoshop Creative Cloud Updates

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly #WacomWED
If you look up #NSL134 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post. Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

Leave a Reply

