N.S.L: WEEK 129 – Illustrator CC: “Type On A Path Options”

Never Stop Learning week 98 “Type on a Path” has been one of my favorite screencasts I’ve recorded so far. This week I wanted to give a brief tour of the different options you have available for text on a path.

It’s a simple panel to understand once you explore it a bit. The problem is that it’s a little hard to find if you don’t know to look for it. Just select your text and go to the Type menu at the top of the screen.

****

Adobe Illustrator Type on a Path

Type on a Path Options

Once I’m in the Type on a Path Options, the first thing I do is click on the Preview check-box. That way I can see my Type update as I make my changes, in real time.

****

Adobe Illustrator Type on a Path Effects

Effects drop-down menu

You have 5 different effects available for your project. Try each one out to see achieve different effects. The different presets will change the lay-out of the characters on the path.

****

Adobe Illustrator Align to Path

Align to Path drop-down menu

You can choose 4 different ways to align your text to your path. You have full control over how your text looks on your path, you just have to know where to find them =D

****

I got all my info from Deke McClelland via Lynda.com:

Illustrator CS6 One-on-One: Advanced

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly #WacomWED
If you look up #NSL129 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post. Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

Leave a Reply

