N.S.L: WEEK 127 – Illustrator CC: “Zooms and New Views”

Little by little, my Adobe Illustrator projects are getting progressively bigger. Sometimes it’s the actual size of the piece and others, it’s the details that make it big.

Adobe Illustrator CC Astute Graphics
Ornament in Mirrorme

The need for navigation in my work is growing. The good thing is, Illustrator feels my pain and has some tools to help out with it. Check out the video at the end of this post!

****

I’m sure there are better ways, but I rely on the Navigator Panel heavily. I’m able to have a birds-eye-view on my project at all times.

Navigation panels in Adobe Illustrator CC
New View on the left and the Navigator Panel on the right

It’s also helpful to create a New View for specific areas. I use this move a little less than the Navigator because I have to do a couple of clicks to get to my new Views. It is useful if you’re working on a huge piece and you need to find some very specific details.

****

I started out by creating an “S” using the Dynamic Sketch Tool by Astute Graphics. I used some a bunch of their plug-ins, I guess it’s because I’m starting to understand them more =D

Dynamic Sketch in Adobe Illustrator CC
Basis of the pattern seen above

****

For this design I used:

DynamicSketch– For the initial design
Extend Path Tool (VS2)- Helped make the design more artsy =D
MirrorMe– To build up the patterns in a kaleidoscope fashion
WidthScribe– To fine-tune the patterns with some variation on the strokes
Phantasm– Brought all the colors together

****

****

I got all of my info from Lynda.com:

Illustrator CC One-on-One: Fundamentals

Illustrator CC Essential Training

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly #WacomWED
If you look up #NSL127 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post. Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

Leave a Reply

