N.S.L: WEEK 125 – Adobe Illustrator CC: “Use Preview Bounds”

This was an interesting find this week. I was trying to use an Align function on 3 different shapes but it wasn’t doing it properly. I realized that Adobe Illustrator was using the Structure for Aligning. Since I had different Appearances applied to the shapes, it looked wrong.

Align and Distribute Vector Shapes

3 shapes aligned using “Use Preview Bounds” in Preferences

I’ve ran into this in the past and I just kinda eye-balled it since it wasn’t giving me the results I wanted. I assumed it was a limitation in Illustrator. Turns out, I was wrong AGAIN =D

****

By default, Adobe Illustrator will use your structure for Alignment and Transformation functions. If you need to, you can make a change in the Preferences (Command + K) so that it uses the Appearance of the shape for Alignment and Transformation functions.

Aligning shapes in Adobe Illustrator

Aligned using default settings ignores Appearance only uses the structure of the shapes.

****

Just go into the General section of your Preferences and check the “Use Preview Bonds” so Illustrator can focus on the appearance of the shape.

Creative Cloud Adobe Illustrator

Aligned using default settings, Outline Mode shows shapes are evenly distributed using the structure

****

Use Preview Bounds in Adobe Illustrator CC

Command+K brings preferences. This is how it looks by default.

****

Adobe Illustrator Align and Distribute

Use Preview Bounds mode will align and distribute using the Appearance of the shapes.

****

I got all of my info from Lynda.com:

Illustrator CS4 Beyond the Basics

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly #WacomWED
If you look up #NSL125 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post. Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

Leave a Reply

