#WacomWed wk.9 “Doodle Paper 1” Adobe Illustrator CC Blob Brush and Smart Remove Brush

YES!!! Each time I pick up my Intuos, I feel WAY more comfortable with it.

Blob Brush Cartoon Characters Wacom Intuos

“Doodle Paper 1”

Yeah, that sounds obvious, but I know folks with their Wacom collecting dust in the corner of the room =D Keep in mind, my goal is to recapture the feeling of drawing freely on my computer. That same feeling I had when I’d just grab my note book and any writing utensil and just start DRAWING. It’s actually coming along faster than I thought.

****

For this project, I went back to the Blob Brush and Eraser. I like the feeling of drawing with a Chisel Tip Sharpie and being able to carve out holes when needed. The problem with the Blob Brush is that it creates TONS of anchor points because it’s constantly expanding my paths. Once I had my drawing completed, I’d make a pass with the Smart Remove Brush and it cleaned up everything for me. I noticed in one situation, I started out with over 1,700 points and then ended up with just over 200 points with a quick pass of the Smart Remove Brush.

****

It was fun finally doing one of these without tracing anything. I just got loose with it and had fun. Some stuff on there might not make sense to you, but that was kind of the idea. Best example, the cow-lick on the guy on the right. It should be on the part but I wanted to make him look and feel very awkward. I’m sure you can find the rest. All I want any reader to take away from this is, HAVE FUN with it. Just get in there and play around a bit.

****

I posted this on my FB on Tuesday 2:45am

Should be sleep but got my weekly’s on my mind. NSL is going to be Photoshop, maybe Vanishing Point Filter. It’ll come… But my WacomWED is another story. I got Squirrels and Rabbits in my brains but I’ve been doing a bunch of animals lately, maybe time for a switch-up.

Maybe I should just get my doodle-on and see what appears on the page. That’s a lil scary cuz I want more control … Well, I guess I should hit the museum, run through some documentaries, and get in a hard workout. That always gets my brains working again.

****

If you would like to know more about #WacomWED, make sure to check out the first post here:

Wacom Wednesday #1 “Wolf Sketch”

****

I used the Smart Remove Brush by Astute Graphics:

****

Checkout:

SebastianBleak- Youtube Tutorials
Never Stop Learning
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#WacomWED #AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
Images looked best on FireFox when this post was created.

One response to “#WacomWed wk.9 “Doodle Paper 1” Adobe Illustrator CC Blob Brush and Smart Remove Brush

  1. That one made quite a difference, didn’t it. The Levels Adjustment can also be done after changing the Blend Mode to Luminosity. Filter Gallery Trying out all of the different filters in the Filter Gallery (Filter > Filter Gallery …) may keep you occupied for some time. There are six Folders and they are just chock full of interesting filters (except Stylize which has but one lonely filter). The most effective, at least to me, is the Texturizer in the Texture Folder. There are four filters in the Texturizer – Brick, Burlap, Canvas and Sandstone – and each one of them can be adjusted in a variety of different ways. What they do is put a texture on your Elements Line Drawing and they look great. Try them all on your Elements line drawing – you’ll like the results. Heres’s Libby again with the preceding three embellishments added (Luminosity, Levels and the Canvas Texture).

Leave a Reply

