N.S.L: WEEK 106 – Adobe Photoshop CC: “Note Tool & Notes Panel” Overlooked

SUPER slept-on Tool in Adobe PhotoshopCC. It’s not going to change your WORLD completely, but MAN does it come in handy. This week I checked out the “Note Tool” and the “Notes Panel”… Yes, that’s right, the Note Tool. There is a Note Tool in Photoshop and it actually comes in handy =D

Adobe Photoshop

Never Stop Learning week 106 Note Tool and Notes Panel

I was at the LAdobe Meeting today and told Ed Ward (Co-Admin Ps & Lr FB Group) what I had planned and he looked shocked a lil. He didn’t even know there was such a tool!!! AWESOME!!! That’s when I knew I had something =D He thought of a GREAT use for it right away (I’ll share it below).

Why the pick the Note Tool? Because it’s sooo overlooked and I’m sure some people will find a good use for it.

****

Where is it and how does it work?

The Note Tool is located in the Tool Panel just as you might have guessed. It’s under the Eyedropper Tool Sub-set. By default, you can hit “SHIFT + I” a couple of times until it comes up. The Note Tool has a partner-in-crime which is the Notes Panel. I think of the Note Tool as the flag or pin-point location of the notes subject. If I want a note about the background in my image, I’ll apply the Note Tool there. Then the Notes Panel comes up and I can type in my notes for that pin location.

Note Panel Adobe Photoshop
The tool and the panel

****

What would I use it for?

Solo Workflow:
For every project, “Never Stop Learning” included, I have a .txt file or 3 with different types of notes. Those are great and I will continue to use them but NOW I can make sure some of my notes NEVER get separated from my file! When I’m going from machine to machine, I have to make sure to bring those notes along with them. Now I’m managing 2+ files when they could just be embedded in my .psd… Less pieces to keep track of. I use notes to make sure I don’t have any typo’s by keeping the info in my notes. URL’s are also good chunks of text to put in or how about store hours and business info when working on flyer’s and business cards =)

Team Workflow:
In this case, in addition to above mentioned, you can let people on your team know which edits they need to make and EXACTLY where they need to be made. Sometimes it’s tough to describe the element like “They guy on the left is too saturated” when there’s multiple “guys” in the shot. With Notes, you can put it right on the “guy” you’re talking about. No guess work!!!

Ed’s Workflow:
Ed likes to name his layers after the edits he made so he knows what he has done on that layer. The problem is that you’re only allowed a certain amount of characters in the Layers Panel. Now Ed can write out his entire Photoshop recipes in his notes if he likes. How does that help? Well if you go through a long process to get a certain look and you want to repeat it again in the future, having the recipe in your notes will save your day =D

****

Breakdown of Functions:

Once you have the Note Tool activated, click on the area you would like to pin your note. If you didn’t put it in the exact place you intended, you can just click and drag to reposition it. While you’re in the Note Tool, in your Options Bar, you can enter an author name for your note, change the color of your note icon, clear all notes, and at the end there’s a button to toggle the Notes Panel on/off. In the Notes panel you can type in your text, use the left and right arrows to select the previous or next notes, and delete selected notes. If you don’t want to see the notes but you don’t want to delete them, the layers panel won’t help you. You have to go to View > Show > Notes and you can deactivate them there.

****

If you follow me on Twitter, you know I that this post was sponsored by MUSIC =D I tried not to post music more than once in an hour.

****

I got my info from:

Type Essentials on Lynda.com

and

Learn Adobe Photoshop – Notes Panel
How To Use The Note Tool in Adobe Photoshop

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
If you look up #NSL106 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.

6 responses to “N.S.L: WEEK 106 – Adobe Photoshop CC: “Note Tool & Notes Panel” Overlooked

  1. One little known and used feature in Adobe’s Photoshop application is the Note tool. For years I made notes in a text file and sent it along with the layered Photoshop file to clients and other designers to explain certain aspects of the file in question. It was a pain not only to create a second file, but required me to explain the part of the file I was referring to clearly enough for the other person to figure out. Adobe’s Note tool solves both problems. You can find the Note tool hidden under the Eyedropper tool in the Tools panel/bar. Once you select the tool, you simply click the cursor anywhere in the file you would like to place a Note. The Note panel opens and you’re presented with an area to type any notes you wish to share with someone else you send the file to. This can even be helpful to remind yourself later on what settings you may have used to achieve an effect, etc. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve wished I wrote down the settings for a filter I used in an image. The one thing you must remember is to save the file as a layered Photoshop file (.PSD), TIFF (.TIF), or Photoshop PDF (.PDF) and click the Notes checkbox in the Save As dialog box as seen above. The Note feature is also available in Adobe InDesign, with the added benefit of the file automatically including the Notes when saved.

  2. I love this, just stumbled across it. Had been writing little formulas in group name for refine edge settings/ some color settings/ percentage of opacity etc. for a quick glance look. May have to play with note feature now. Hate hate hate that Refine Edge settings change EVERY time that one uses it UNLESS remove boxed ck mark to NOT save settings. But what if one finally likes a setting, don’t know if until click ok. Can’t go back and click on one that was previously GREAT because its going to default to current settings – doesn’t show what the OLDER GREAT settings were that were just what I wanted. Frustrating. So after trial and error (and 3 days) I have finally gotten back to close to my original setting, still NOT the same. Had I known to make notes then I would have not been behind in my project.

Leave a Reply

