N.S.L: WEEK 105 – Adobe Illustrator CC: “Gears” Ai and VectorScribe DMALA Preso

WOW WHAT A WEEK!!! I was asked to give a quick presentation at the July meeting for Digital Media Artists LA. They asked that I show some quick ways to create Gears since the majority of the members work with Motion Graphics.

Vector Gears Adobe Illustrator

3 different Gears for demo

****

The Astute Graphics team helped me to put on a great presentation. Nick told me about a tutorial that Iaroslav Lazunov wrote for Astute Graphics. WOW!  I learned a lot. I already knew how to make a basic gear in Illustrator (1st example in the vid) but his tutorial took it to a whole other level. I studied HARD for this presentation. I created the video so that I would be able to listen to it on a loop. In addition to practicing/rehearsing, I listened to the video in loop from 10pm to 10am the night before the meeting. Everything went GREAT! The crowd what really cool and I got to meet and talk to a BUNCH of new people  =D

****

I went through so much info that it’s best you just watch the video below:

I’m gonna warn you, it’s me talkin real nerdy for over 15min. If you dig vector drawing, keyboard shortcuts and hotkeys, then you’re good… Real Nerdy =D

****

QUICK TIPS

There is a “Quick Tips” section in the middle of the video. I go over Artboards, how they work and some keyboard shortcuts. I’m telling you, I got TONS of info for this presentation. I really wanted to do a good job for the group. We had some pro’s in the seats =D

****

Adobe Illustrator Rotate Tool

Rotate Math

This is a trick that I saw Deke do a long time ago but I never really got it. Now that I do, I feel kinda dumb for not getting it =D I know I shouldn’t but I still do sometimes. That’s why I Never Stop Learning! In this situation I wanted my gear to have 10 teeth. The way I remember it is by thinking of it this way: 360 degrees in a circle divided by the amount of points you want. Then let Illustrator do the math for you.

****

Astute Graphics

Multi Handle Mode

This was towards the end of the presentation. This was the move that was supposed to BLOW THEIR MINDS! I got a good reaction from what I remember. It’s hard to gauge because of all the lights in my face. My friends said that the crowd was impressed =) CLICK HERE TO SEE MHM

****

Why so much prep? Keep in mind, I’m learning EVERYDAY! I see myself more as a student even though I started tutoring people =D Either way, this was only my 2nd presentation, I wanted to do it, and I wanted to do a great job at it. So, I did what I learned while working on these NSL’s which is Study, Try-it, repeat. You HAVE to do all 3!

****

Man! Funny parts from the night:

  1. S. Meza saying “You better teach me somthing!” or something like that =D I was super nervous and that helped chill me out. I kept laughing to myself about it all night #NoPressure =D

  2. I finished my planned material and wasn’t sure how long I had gone on for. I look around for Ko, one of the group managers, and I don’t see him ANYWHERE =D I freaked out a lil and decided to just keep on trucking. I moved on to demo ColliderScribe and WidthScribe since we were giving them out as prizes that night… I didn’t have EITHER one installed on that machine =O I ended up demoing SubScribe (FREE PLUGIN) and made a chill frog with rose tinted sunglasses =)

  3. When making the rose tinted sunglasses I said “I’m going to make it so the lenses are transparent, but not the frames. Metal is not transparent.” I made the opacity change… and I made the metal transparent =D Lucky for me some nice attendee gave me a hint and I figured it out with it getting too messy.

  4. I was supposed to be on for only 10min and I think I ended up doing like 20  OOOOPS!!!

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
If you look up #NSL105 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.

One response to “N.S.L: WEEK 105 – Adobe Illustrator CC: “Gears” Ai and VectorScribe DMALA Preso

  1. Pingback: Astute Graphics

Leave a Reply

