N.S.L: WEEK 102 – Adobe Illustrator C6: “Symmetry” MirrorMe by Astute Graphics

Wow! I’ve been wanting something like this for a couple years now! Astute Graphics announces that MirrorMe is on its WAY!!!

MirrorMe by Astute Graphics for Adobe Illustrator
“It’s Easy With MirrorMe”

What is it?!? It’s a plug in for Adobe Illustrator that allows you to draw in half the time. Like the name suggest, you draw on one half of the screen and it will be copied and mirrored on the other half. It does a lot more but I’ll get to that in another post. I really want to focus on the ability to draw symmetrical objects even FASTER than ever before.

We all know and LOVE the old trick. You draw half a face/shape, copy it and mirror it to complete your image… That works GREAT most of the time. Unless you really know what you’re doing, other times it can be kinda tough welding your shapes together. Especially if you pile on the appearances and effects. Let’s just say I’ve run into a bunch of road blocks because I usually don’t know what I’m doing =D

****

Adobe Illustrator CS6 drawing a Lion
MirrorMe- Split down the middle, I’m only drawing 1 half and Astute Graphics takes care of the rest!

What I really like about MirrorMe is that I can update my image in real time. As I draw, it gets mirrored in my document! Before, I would build build build, THEN the task to weld in the other half begins. Welding felt like a job of its own. Here with MirrorMe it’s all going down at THE SAME TIME =D

****

Symmetrical character drawing
Symmetry in half the time!

I did a Select All so you can see what I drew and what MirrorMe took care of. If the shape does not appear to be selected, it’s because it’s still a Live shape created by MirrorMe.

****

Don’t forget to check out this video below to see MirrorMe in action!!!

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
If you look up #NSL102 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.

2 responses to “N.S.L: WEEK 102 – Adobe Illustrator C6: “Symmetry” MirrorMe by Astute Graphics

  1. Spot on with this write-up, I really believe this amazing site needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the info.

  2. Pingback: Astute Graphics

Leave a Reply

