N.S.L: WEEK 98 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: Type on a Path

I’m always looking for better ways to make my text look super clean. The best way to do that is go back to the basics!!! I have improved on my workflow for creating text in a circle. I guess we NEVER STOP LEARNING!!!  =D

Text on a path in Adobe Illustrator CS6

“Sebastian Bleak” Text on a path in Adobe Illustrator CS6

I ended up taking a good look at the best ways to layout text in a circle.

****

Appearance panel in Ai CS6

Circle setup using the appearance panel in Preview Mode and Outline Mode.

This started of as just a single circle with multiple fills and strokes added by using the appearance panel.

****

Text on a path

2 different paths for my text to go along in outline mode

In the past I would create 2 identical circles in the same position and use 1 for the top text and the other for the bottom text. Now I use the Scissor (C) tool to cut my circle in half, then use the 2 halves. It is a cleaner way to work and I feel like I have WAY more control over it.

****

Text layout for Adobe Illustrator

Sebastian Bleak Circle text layout

****

****

I got all my info from Deke McClelland via Lynda.com:

Illustrator CS6 One-on-One: Advanced

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
If you look up #NSL98 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.
**** CURRENTLY THESE POSTS ARE BEST VIEWED ON MOZILLA FIREFOX****

Leave a Reply

