N.S.L: WEEK 95 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: Shadows/Highlights Basic

Since the past 5 posts on here have been focused on Adobe Illustrator, I WANTED to come back to Photoshop and try out something new to me.

Frog photo done in Adobe Photoshop CS6
Creepy Frog, in leaves

I wasn’t sure where to start this project but I started my week by meeting Deke McClelland at an Adobe User Group meeting, that was pretty AWESOME!=P

Sebastian Bleak and Deke McClelland
Me on the left and the great Deke McClelland on the right 5-2013

I started digging around my Lynda.com account for some videos by Deke. Turns out that, a while back, I book marked a video by him that I hadn’t seen yet called “Shadows/Highlights”. It’s a feature I never use. The reason I never use it is because I don’t know how to use it =D Like most things, right?!?!? So this was my first look at this feature.

****

Camera phone original shot
Original image taken with the camera on my phone.

****

Content-Aware Healing Brush Ps CS6
Healing Brush with Content-Aware

I wanted  to add some leaves and that’s super easy to do now in Adobe Photoshop CS6.

****

Shadows and Highlights Ps CS6
Shadows/Highlights- Basic panel

I specified this as “Shadows/Highlights Basic” because there’s an “Advanced” option for this feature but since it’s my first look at this tool, I want to take some baby steps =D
What this feature does is it can be used to darken your highlights or brighten your shadows. In this image, I liked my shadows but I wanted to darken the highlights.  Above you can see that I set the shadows to 0% because I did not want to lighten them. I set the highlights to 100% so I can see the effect on the image then back it off to taste.

****

More Options Shadows/Highlights Ps CS6
More Options for Shadows and Highlights

I didn’t learn all of the additional options but I did learn that they are necessary if you need more control over your Shadows/Highlights adjustments. All I touched were the radius controls, color correction, and midtone contrast.

****

Frog Picture

****

Now that you saw the screenshots of the process, here’s a short video overview of what I did with this photograph, right before I took it into Adobe CameraRAW.

****

I got my info from Lynda.com:

Photoshop CS6 One-on-One: Advanced

I just focused on the “Shadows/Highlights” video and then tried it out on a pic from my phone.

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
If you look up #NSL95 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.
**** CURRENTLY THESE POSTS ARE BEST VIEWED ON MOZILLA FIREFOX****

One response to “N.S.L: WEEK 95 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: Shadows/Highlights Basic

  1. Pingback: N.S.L: WEEK 115 – Adobe Photoshop CC: “CameraRAW Filter” | Sebastian Bleak

Leave a Reply

