N.S.L: WEEK 93 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: Vinyl T-Shirt Printing Workflow

WHAT AN AWESOME WEEK!!! WOO!!!

So, I was lucky enough to be invited to give a demonstration at the Adobe Illustrator LA User Group meeting on 04-23-2013. The demo was on how I print Vinyl Transfer T-Shirts at my job. I was SUPER nervous because it was my first time presenting but it was a lot of fun and I can’t wait to do it again.

Adobe Grind RUN DMC logo
“Adobe Grind” design inspired by RUN DMC created for Vinyl T-Shirt Printing Workflow demo

****

In this first video above, I’ll briefly give you an overview on how I setup the “Adobe Grind” artwork. I go through some keyboard shortcuts pretty fast so check out my video in NSL week 92 for a rundown on that topic KEYBOARD SHORTCUTS.

****

In this 2nd video you’ll see the process of how I produce custom t-shirts using vinyl transfers.
The vinyl transfers are custom made in Adobe Illustrator. The design is sent to a plotter for cutting. After all of the materials are produced, we begin to remove the vinyl pieces that are not intended to be on the final shirt product. Once the materials have been prepared the compressor and heat press machines are set according to the materials and shirt type being produced. You will also see the final design on the shirt and a screen shot of the intended design.

You won’t learn how to print t-shirts by watching this video alone =D What you will learn is what happens to your design once it’s been setup for production. You get to see all the steps behind the scenes.

I made this video using a Flip Cam and I edited it in Adobe Photoshop CS6 with a color lookup table from Adobe SpeedGrade CS6

****

AG DrawScribe PhantasmCS WidthScribe
List of Plugin Prizes by Astute Graphics

Thank you for your support!!!
www.AstuteGraphics.com

DrawScribe * Phantasm CS * WidthScribe

Astute Graphics winners
Prize winner for the night!!! Can’t wait to see what these guys design with their new plugins

****

Sebastian Bleak presenting Adobe Grind
Shots of my demo by members in attendance. Thanks guys!!!

I had a GREAT time presenting for the group and the crowd was awesome! I can’t wait for them to have me back in a couple months (fingers crossed).

****

Capital One 360 Adobe User Groups Astute Graphics
Sponsors for AiLA 04-23-2013 meeting

Thanks to our sponsors!!! Without you guys we wouldn’t have had such a great event

Adobe User Groups

CapitalOne 360

Astute Graphics

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
If you look up #NSL93 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.
**** CURRENTLY THESE POSTS ARE BEST VIEWED ON MOZILLA FIREFOX****

9 responses to “N.S.L: WEEK 93 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: Vinyl T-Shirt Printing Workflow

  1. Hey! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with
    us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely loving the information.
    I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Exceptional blog and outstanding design and style.

Leave a Reply

