N.S.L: WEEK 91 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: Calligraphic Brush Settings on Blob Brush

I’ve NEVER heard that you could use your Calligraphic Brush Settings on your Blob Brush. These are tools found in Adobe Illustrator CS6.

Adobe Illustrator Blob Brush

All vector, sketched out in Adobe Illustrator CS6 using the Blob Brush with Calligraphic Brush presets

Above is what I came up with while testing this feature, I didn’t know existed=D  I guess you could say this post is

the 3rd of a set of 3 because weeks 87 & 89 led to this. While I was learning about the Blob Brush and the Calligraphic Brush, I found that the settings of one could be saved and used on the other. Let me show you what I mean:

Blob Brush Adobe Illustrator
Same appearances in Preview Mode

They don’t look identical because I drew them both freehand but you can tell that both tools are leaving marks as though they were the  same brush tips.

****

Adobe Illustrator Outline Mode

Side-by-side

In outline mode you see that the Blob Brush is an expanded path & the Calligraphic Brush is a stroke with live attributes.

If they have the same look, which one should you use???—> It would depend on the project and your workflow. I’m learning both so that I can have that flexibility.

****

Adobe Illustrator

Blob Brush Tool Options

Take a look at the Blob Brush Settings! They are being completely ignored! But that’s okay in this situation because that’s the intended behavior. I never knew you could do this!!! Thanks Sharon Steuer for sharing the info!!! =D

****

Adobe Illustrator Blob Brush Calligraphic Brush

Calligraphic Brush Options

Highlighted in red you’ll see where the Blob Brush is getting its information. I found a Calligraphic Brush Preset that I liked, selected it in the panel, and then selected the Blob Brush. It took on the attributes from the saved preset.

Why is this helpful??? —> You can save several Calligraphic brush settings but you can not save off a Blob Brush Setting. You save out a couple Calligraphic presets ahead of time that you are comfortable with using, then apply them to your Blob Brush! TIME SAVER

****

THE COOLEST THING I LEARNED:

As if this wasn’t cool ENOUGH!!! =D
When you’re placing the image you’re going to trace, you can check the “template” option and that will put your image in a –>template layer<– and create a new layer for you to draw on woo!!! That saves me a bunch of clicks. I feel kinda dumb because it’s something I’ve just simply over looked durning my design process. It doesn’t even sound new to me but I guess the designer I am today is ready to use the information =D

Here’s what it looks like:

Adobe Illustrator Template

****

The other 2 posts that go with this set are linked below:

N.S.L: WEEK 87 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: Blob Brush Settings

N.S.L: WEEK 89 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: Calligraphic Brush Settings

****

I got most of my info from Lynda.com

Artistic Painting with Illustrator: Natural Media Brushes

Illustrator Insider Training: Drawing without the Pen Tool

Illustrator for Fashion Design: Drawing Flats

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
If you look up #NSL91 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.
**** CURRENTLY THESE POSTS ARE BEST VIEWED ON MOZILLA FIREFOX****

Leave a Reply

