Just 4 Fun: 04072013 Rocky Sketch w/ Astute Graphics Dynamic Sketch Tool AiCS6

My goal is to practice more often to get better at drawing. This was created using Adobe Illustrator CS6,  Dynamic Sketch Tool, Phantasm CS by Astute Graphics, and my Wacom Intuos4. WORKFLOW!!! =D

Adobe Illustrator Dynamic Sketch
Rocky Sketch 04-07-2013

****

Main focus on this project was doing something for fun that means a lot to ME. How do we become better at drawing? Draw more! I’m not confident in my drawing skills so I’m making it a point to draw more. The great thing is, if you learn your tools, you can have a lot of fun!

****

Adobe Illustrator CS6 plugin by Astute Graphics
Quick Sketch of Rocky 04072013- Dynamic Sketch Tool by Astute Graphics

I found a picture of my old friend Rocky and laid out the black line sketch in a couple of minutes. I was trying to get the hang of varying my strokes. My plan was to remove the photo, then refine my sketch but my awesome Niece Raven said she really liked the sketchy feel so I left it… She was RIGHT! Why do we HAVE to make EVERY thing in the computer so polished?!?! We don’t have to. We can go back to the fun we had just sketching out with simple materials. I did all the sketch lines using the Dynamic Sketch Tool by Astute Graphics.

****

Adobe Illustrator CS6
Color Shape Paths in Adobe Illustrator using DrawScribe

Now I needed some color. I wanted to keep using the Dynamic Sketch Tool so I started to create some fills for the color. It was really easy to make closed paths and make edits as I went along. You just really have to learn you preferences. If you get that down, you can be prepared for each stage of your design workflow.

****

Halftone Adobe Illustrator
Phantasm CS- Halftone I can actually make changes that make sense to me =D

The background was also put together in a couple minutes. I created a gradient fill from my swatches panel. Once I had the look I was going for, I applied the halftone effect in Phantasm CS by Astute Graphics and adjusted to taste =D

****

Here’s the last project I did with a Rock pic:

Rocky 08132012- Photoshop

****

Video Playlists that helped make this project:

Draw Scribe

Phantasm CS

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
If you look up #AdobeGrind you should be able to follow my week.
**** CURRENTLY THESE POSTS ARE BEST VIEWED ON MOZILLA FIREFOX****

5 responses to “Just 4 Fun: 04072013 Rocky Sketch w/ Astute Graphics Dynamic Sketch Tool AiCS6

  1. Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.

    The words in your article seem to be running off the screen
    in Ie. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved soon.
    Many thanks

  2. Have you ever thought about writing an ebook or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog based on the same topics you discuss and
    would really like to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my subscribers would appreciate your work.
    If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

  3. Hello! I just found your web site: Just 4 Fun: 04072013 Rocky Sketch w/
    Astute Graphics Dynamic Sketch Tool AiCS6 | Sebastian Bleak when I was surfing around digg.
    com. It looks as though someone appreciated
    your site so much they decided to bookmark it.
    I’ll undoubtedly be returning here more often.

Leave a Reply

