N.S.L: WEEK 90 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: Color Lookup 3DLUT SpeedGrade

This was AWESOME! I’ve been wanting to focus on the new feature “Color Lookup” in Adobe Photoshop CS6.

Adobe Photoshop

Image adjustments made using the new Color Lookup feature in Adobe Photoshop CS6

When it first came out, I heard somebody say that I could make my own “Looks” by using Adobe SpeedGrade to create new 3D LUT’s and save them out as “.look” files that can be used in Photoshop and other applications. I looked all over the place but I couldn’t really find any video resources that covered this workflow specifically.

****

Adobe Photoshop Color 3DLUTs

This is a list of the Color Lookup Presets that come with Photoshop

I started to think that I would not be able to make my own .look files using SpeedGrade in time so I would settle for downloading some from a trusted site. I went to the Adobe Exchange because I REALLY trust that site. I was unable to find any existing files for download and I didn’t find much info on the topic either. Maybe 2 posts but no mention of free .look files to download so I bypassed most of it.

****

Color Lookup Tables Adobe

These are the folders where the Presets are stored. I copied the ones from the left and pasted them on to the right.

I had to do what I don’t like doing, READ READ READ. Reading is great, but it’s a tough one for me. I did a Google search on the subject and came across approx. 6 articles that I found helpful and a bunch more that were not helpful =D. I’m thinking that this subject is so new that it’s hard to find a bunch of info for it =D IDK. After reading the 6+ articles, I came up with a new plan.

Thanks to Richard Curtis’ article “Adding a 3D LUT or colour lookup table for toning to your image. No 2” I was able to get a new plan in action. In his Step 3, he mentions that SpeedGrade shipped with more .looks that were not available in Photoshop CS6… Now I’m scrambling to find these assets on my machine so that I could load them to my Photoshop. In the comments, some one asked where the presets were and Richard was awesome enough to post the path:
“Applications/Adobe SpeedGrade CS6/Adobe SpeedGrade CS6.app/Contents/MacOS/Look Examples”

****

Adobe Photoshop

This is my extended list of 3D LUT presets

Turns out I didn’t have SpeedGrade on my machine but because I have the Adobe Creative Cloud, I downloaded it, literally, in minutes. I jumped right into the program file folders for SpeedGrade, found the .look files, then copy and pasted them into my Adobe Photoshop CS6 3DLUTs Presets folder. I tried them out in Photoshop, but they were not coming up on the drop-down menu for the 3DLUT presets…. I restarted Photoshop and THERE THEY WERE!!! I got new looks for Photoshop!!!

I started out with 19 “Looks” and now I have 51 =D As I was going through them I realized that some of the presets didn’t work for my image. Some even turned my image completely black. For some reason, this would only happen if I clicked on the preset. Once I would start cycling through them with my arrow keys, they all appeared fine. Weird.

****

Adobe Photoshop

Different examples of Color Lookup adjustment layers

Why is this a big deal to me??? Well, the Color Lookup feature is one of my favorite additions in the last build. Since it starts off as a preset, I was worried about other designers getting similar feels. My thinking is, if I have a variety of Color Lookup Presets, my results would vastly differ from what my peers are creating and I would be designing more efficiently.

Wow!!! I’m so hyped! I’m glad I found out how to do this. So, for now, I’m going to play around with all the new presets I have. On the next time I study the Color Lookup option, I’ll make a .look file in SpeedGrade from scratch =D

****

Checkout and download FREE MUSIC from my friend:
KLOUT- MUSIC on BANDCAMP

****

I found my info here:

Richard Curtis
Adding a 3D LUT or colour lookup table for toning to your image. No 2

The New Color Lookup Adjustment In Photoshop CS6

Up and Running with SpeedGrade

Photoshop CS6 New Features

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
If you look up #NSL90 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.
**** CURRENTLY THESE POSTS ARE BEST VIEWED ON MOZILLA FIREFOX****

7 responses to “N.S.L: WEEK 90 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: Color Lookup 3DLUT SpeedGrade

  1. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any
    widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  2. Hi guys, I just read your article about 3D LUTS in photoshop, I just develop an app: CINEKOLOR for creating 3D LUTs on your, it mimics most lightroom retouch capabilites, please take a look and let me know if you want to make a review. Thanks. https://vimeo.com/81355367

  3. Pingback: #CreativeFriday – Creating 3D LUT’s in Photoshop for Video Grading and Image Enhancement

  4. hey there – some of the profile are not working for me, just as you described. I’m on a mac, and I can’t find a way to cycle through them using my arrow keys. how are you doing it?

    thanks

Leave a Reply

