N.S.L: WEEK 88 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: Scripted Patterns New Feature

I kinda feel like the New Scripted Patterns for Adobe Photoshop CS6 got slept on. I haven’t heard much buzz about it so I figured I’d check them out and see what this “New Feature” is all about =D

T-Shirt Design by Kyle Haro
I used the Spiral Script Fill that ships with CS6 and then added the boarder from a script I downloaded.

****

Before even trying the scripts, I’ve been reading and watching tutorials about scripts and it feels kinda weird. I’m going to design using Scripts. Awesome and strange at the same time because I don’t know ANYTHING about JavaScript. I just have an idea of what it is but I’m a Designer/Artist, I just want to push some pixels and yank on some bezier handles =D
STILL, I’m learning some cool techniques that will help me out in my field as a Creative Professional.

****

Photoshop CS6 Define Pattern
Define pattern

****

CS6 Scripted Pattern Fill
Random Scripted Fill in Photoshop CS6

When I saw the Random Scripted Fill, the light bulb in my head went off! It was a cool look and I just saw TIME SAVER.

****

Scripted Fill UI install
Installing Scripted Fill UI

After applying the Scripted fill for the first time, I already wanted more control over how my fills would turn out. This week I came across an article that had a free script for “Scripted Fill UI” and it is just that. You can make some simple adjustments to your fills with it. There’s a link at the end of this blog where you can download the same scripts I used in this post.

****

Scripted Pattern UI screen shop in PS
Scripted Pattern UI once you run the script in Photoshop

This is what the Scripted UI looks like when you first launch it.

****

Instal of new scripted patterns
Instillation location for Scripted Patterns

Here you can see where I added new Fill Scripts.

****

New Scripted patterns
The highlighted items are the new scripts I installed for this project.

This was my first look at scripts for Photoshop so I know I’ve only scratched the surface. What I did pick up was that Photoshop Scripts mean automation. I’ve been playing with Actions and Scripts appear to be Actions on steroids =D
It’s basically a .JSX file that get’s placed into specific directories to be called on later when you’re designing. You apply them to your existing patterns and the scripts will change your patterns behavior. You turn a tile pattern into a Brick, Swirl, Weave, Random, or other patterns.

At this point, I’m not going to learn JavaScript to create my own but if I hear of a great one on Adobe Exchange then I might try it out. Only use scripts from people you know and trust if you don’t know about them =D For now I don’t want to know how the scripts work but how they can work for me and let me be free to create COOL images FAST! =D

****

Hubris is the name of my friends T-Shirt company. Check out some of his artwork here:

Haro Art Tumblr

****

I got most of my info from:

My Twitter friend @sPECtre sent me this very helpful link:
Deco Scripted Patterns in Photoshop
I actually had to READ this week =D Thanks Pierre, your link MADE this post. Please check it out and try out the scripts. Let the authors know what you think of their awesome work!

Videos:
Photoshop CS6 New Features

Scripted Patterns Using Adobe Photoshop CS6

Photoshop CS6 Public Beta – Scripted Patterns

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
If you look up #NSL88 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.

7 responses to “N.S.L: WEEK 88 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: Scripted Patterns New Feature

  1. You can certainly see your skills within the article you write.
    The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

  2. I do trust all of the ideas you have introduced in your post.
    They are very convincing and will definitely work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are very short for beginners.
    Could you please prolong them a bit from subsequent time?

    Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

