N.S.L: WEEK 86 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: Conditional Actions, New Feature, Creative Cloud

Never Stop Learning week 86!!! Woo =D

Dragon Dog HDR Photoshop
HDR Photo retouched in Photoshop

First I started to retouch a couple of photo’s to add an action at the end. I figured I’d automate a watermark or some finishing touch. THEN! I remembered Chris Orwig mention some free actions that look like the Instagram filters. I thought that could be fun and would really give me a chance to go ALL OUT  with Actions.

****

Instagram filter as Actions for Photoshop
First try at Daniel Box’s Instagram Actions

****

Sunset photo with Instagram actions
2nd try at dbox Instagram actions

****

City night scene with Instagram filter
3rd photo with Daniel Box actions

****

So above are the cool effects I was able to get really fast with actions I found online and 1 image I made some standard retouching to. Actions are a great time saver and I recommend looking some up for you to try out. Ask around for trusted recommendations. You can also look around the Adobe Exchange. They always have cool free add-on’s.
Below you get to see how the “Conditional Actions” work. They are currently only available for Adobe Creative Cloud members but should but in the CS7 release for non-members.

****

Actions for Photoshop CS6
Load actions

Every tut for loading Actions will tell you to just double click on the file to add it. Well that didn’t help me out at all because my PC didn’t recognize a “.atn” file. I’m sure there’s ways to fix that path, but I didn’t know what I was doing =D
I grabbed the file, went to my C drive, Adobe, Photoshop CS6, Presets, then I found Actions. I dropped the file in there. then in my actions pallet, I found a drop down menu that had a “Load Actions” option. Once I clicked that, I saw my .atn file. That is the image you see above.

****

Actions pallet Ps CS6 CC
Loaded into my actions pallet

I like setting them to button mode. I find it less confusing. You can find this option in the drop down menu of the actions pallet.

****

Adobe Photoshop CS6 Actions
Create new action

Now we come to the NEW FEATURE PART WOO!!! What I learned about these “Conditional Actions” is that it made from existing actions. So, before you try to make your conditional actions as 1 united action, you have to create the individual actions to combine later.

In addition to that, they have to be in the same Actions Set. I had multiple Set’s and I thought I could pull from them but I had to copy them the my new Actions Set. No big deal. Once you have your individual actions in place, start recording your new action.

****

Conditions for Actions in Photoshop Creative Cloud
Add your conditions

When recording this new Conditional Action, your first move will be to go to your Actions drop down menu and choose “Insert Condition” then you are given the menu you see above. That is where you are able to pick the previous actions you set up.

In my case, I’m using this function to re-size my images to fit on this blog. I always used actions for this but I would have to run the action twice if some images were landscape and some portrait.

In this situation my Conditional Action is saying:
If the image is Landscape, make it 1600px wide. If the image is Not Landscape, make it 1000px tall

It was great because now I can just run that single action while I do other things… maybe clear my head with a good set of some burpees =D

****

The free actions I downloaded were from:
Daniel Box – Instagram Filters as Photoshop Actions

****

I got most of my info from Lynda.com:

Photoshop for Photographers: Creative Effects
Photoshop CS6 New Features
Photoshop CS6 for Photographers New Features

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
If you look up #NSL86 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.

7 responses to “N.S.L: WEEK 86 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: Conditional Actions, New Feature, Creative Cloud

  1. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something informative to read?

    • =D Thanks! I watch the videos then try out the technique for the first time. What you see is my first attempt at a technique that I learned by watching some videos that week. As I learn more I will definitely write more. I appreciate the comment! Never Stop Learning!

  2. Outstanding post but I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Thanks!

  3. You can certainly see your skills in the work you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. Always go after your heart.

Leave a Reply

