N.S.L: WEEK 85 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: Smart Guides- Polygonal Panda

I find Smart Guides useful but I hear from some friends that they don’t like them for their workflow. After asking around and watching a couple videos, I think I know where the problem is =D

Panda Illustration
Polygonal Panda

I created Polygonal Panda using Adobe Illustrator CS6 and a lil Adobe Photoshop CS6

****

Smart Guides Object Highlighting Panda
Object Highlighting with Smart Guides

In the image above I only have a couple of shapes but you can see that Smart Guides has highlighted 2 objects at the same time. Imagine if I had a dozen objects in that same area for more complex artwork. The Highlighting could throw you off because there’s too many objects to highlight in that situation. Plus if you’re a new user it could be a bit much having so much go on at one time =D

****

Smart Guides Preferences in Illustrator CS6
Preferences for Smart Guides
Ctrl + K

Like most functions in the Adobe Creative Suite, you can tailor them to suit your needs in the Preferences panel. I highlighted some settings you might want to play with first. If the Highlighting Objects is too much, just turn it off. You might also find that the tolerance for Snapping is too high especially if you like to work zoomed in. If that’s the case for you, try it at 2pt instead of 4pt.

****

CTRL + U

That is the keyboard shortcut for toggling the Smart Guides off and on. I use this one CONSTANTLY. Smart Guides are great, you just have to make them work for you.

****

I got most of my info from Lynda.com:

Illustrator CS5 Essential Training
Illustrator CS6 Essential Training

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
If you look up #NSL85 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.

One response to “N.S.L: WEEK 85 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: Smart Guides- Polygonal Panda

Leave a Reply

