N.S.L: WEEK 82 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: Pen Tool New Feature and 3D

Last week, the coolest trick I learned in Illustrator was added to Photoshop 13.1 for Creative Cloud Members. So I studied up on the Pen Tool and tried it out on some 3D

Pen Tool 3D of a Ray Gun
Fully rendered 3D “Ray-Gun” made in Adobe Photoshop CS6 13.1 with the Pen Tool.

****

Ray Gun, 3D, in Photoshop 13.1
3D Ray Gun created using the Pen Tool unrendered.

****

They added the ability to move your anchor point by holding down the spacebar while using the Pen tool. It’s great if you use this tool a lot and if you are already use to how it functions in Illustrator.

layers in photoshop
I pieced together an idea for a Ray Gun in Photoshop

****

I was still going off of a webinar I attended that was put together by Chana Messer and Stephen Burns. I like that in CS6 the vector tools behave more like the tools in Adobe Illustrator.

Pen Tool techniques for Photoshop
Using the Pen Tool to lay down some anchor points

I did have to do some “Shape Building” for these rings because I needed them to be IDENTICAL. I Pen Tooled them at first but any lil imperfection is magnified because our eye wants to see perfection when dealing with “manufactured” items.

****

Ray guns for Outer Space scene
Many views of the same subjects.

So, I’m not a 3D guy either but I’m REALLY finding it useful. I’m not great at guessing how light should fall on my subject so I let Photoshop do the work for me. I create this basic piece once and now I can rotate it and move it around ALL I WANT! I just set up the lights once and wherever I move it, my lights look great. You can argue that Photoshop doesn’t make perfect lighting but I promise you it’s way better than what a lot of us can come up with. If I create a scene like this for a client and they want the gun moved to show a different angle, no problem! Because I made it in 3D, I can make the change pretty fast. If I did this in 2D, I would need to recreate the entire gun. TIME IS MONEY and i’m broke as a joke =D

****

The Pen Tool = precision
It can be used to create clean vector masks but I thought I would show off with some 3D. When you’re working with 3D you REALLY need those clean lines that you get with vector paths. The way I see it, I keep practicing with my Pen Tool and I’ll keep getting better =D

****

I got most of my info from:

Lynda.com:

Photoshop CS6 New Features
Photoshop CS6 One-on-One: Advanced

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly #WSLS
If you look up #NSL82 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.

Leave a Reply

