N.S.L: WEEK 79 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: InkScribe

InkScribe is a cool Plugin for Adobe Illustrator made by Astute Graphics. I checked out their playlists on Youtube studied up all week and then tried it out.

Illustrated Sugar Skull
Finished Skull Illustration

With InkScribe, the first thing that freaked me out was that after the first click, this string follows your cursor. I wanted it GONE, it freaked me out and I decided to start by studying SubScribe instead =D The cool thing is that this Plugin works a lot like Illustrator. All I had to do was open my preferences and tell InkScribe not to show that “Rubberband” #Awesome I actually got use to it and now I work with it on.

****

Sketch of a sugar skull
Original sketch by my big cousin Christian Mendoza. He sketched this out during a session we had on Thanksgiving.

For Never Stop Learning week 77 I vectorized a different sketch by Christian Mendoza.
Check it out here: http://bit.ly/Wi9kKk

****

Outlline Mode for day of the dead illustration
After laying out all the anchor points, I took a screen shot of it in outline mode. I always want to see people math! Show your work! =D

****

skull design flat
Here’s all the shapes in preview mode.

****

So InkScribe is like the Pentool in Illustrator but with a lot more functionality to it. The best thing you can do is set it up like you normal Pentool and add features as you go. You’ll get the hang of it after browsing through the preferences.

I laid everything out with the same size stroke. After I had it all in place, I varied the widths of the strokes to get a way more expressive look. I’m not a trained Illustrator but I really liked how this came out with some simple variations of strokes.

****

Astute Graphics has a whole suite of plugins that work in Illustrator to enhance your workflow. I’m digging them! Try out SubScribe for free then buy up the rest =D

They also have some BIG NEWS coming in a week or two. CLICK HERE to stay up to date.

****

I got most of my info from:

Astute Graphics Youtube

Lynda.com

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly #WSLS
If you look up #NSL79 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.

11 responses to “N.S.L: WEEK 79 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: InkScribe

  1. Appreciating the commitment you put into your website and detailed information you provide. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  2. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content in your case? I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome weblog!

    • Thank you so much! =D That’s awesome. Well for now, it’s just me. It’s more of a study so I can get better at using the programs. Maybe if I keep this going I will have guest bloggers in the future. Thanks for the idea and the kind words about the blog =) … Best wishes!

    • Weird, what browser are you using? Not sure if that is the issue, but I’m just curious. I tried keeping the images small and set up to be viewed on a desktop. Please try again tomorrow and let me know if you are still having trouble. Thanks! =)

Leave a Reply

