N.S.L: WEEK 78 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: Combine 3D Shapes

So I’m not NEW to 3D in Adobe Photoshop CS6 but I am new to the whole idea of 3D. Up until now I’ve only done 3D with text. Time to step my game up and start making SHAPES with 3D and then COMBINING them to make 1 3D object. 3D Shapes to create an artistic scene that can be used for anything later. Here’s what I came up with:

3D planet in outter space

3D space scene done in Adobe Photoshop CS6. I combined the rings and the planet from 2 different 3D layers.

****

Metal texture

Anvil Texture image I used to create the planet in this scene.

****

planet rings 3d mesh

Merge 3D Layers in Photoshop to create 1 3D object

****

Screen shot in Adobe Photoshop CS6 3D

3D objects allow you to reposition your subject as you build your scene.

****

I think there’s a lot of power in the ability to create illustrations using SOME 3D features. I was really excited about being able to reposition some of my shapes. If I spend some time and create more complex 3D designs, I can reuse them to save time and get an edge on my competition.

****

Coolest Thing I Learned:

It’s becoming more common that I have multiple techniques that I find “SUPER COOL”.

Polar Coordinates- I’ve never heard of this filter before approaching this project. It turns squares into rings (that’s how I used it here) or circles into squares.

Merge 3D Layers- I had no clue how this was done. I know this sounds dumb but I didn’t know what you would do if you wanted to merge more than 1 3D meshes. Now I know there is a function that does just that.

Align 3D Mesh- This is a new feature in the CS6 build. I really made good use of it aligning the ring with the planet.

****

I got most of my info from ChromeAllusion.com:
Tutorials-Webinars-Adobe Phoenix

Lynda.com:Photoshop CS5 Extended One-on-One: 3D Fundamentals

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly #WSLS
If you look up #NSL78 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.

2 responses to “N.S.L: WEEK 78 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: Combine 3D Shapes

Leave a Reply

