N.S.L: WEEK 77 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: Drawing Vector Graphics

First Never Stop Learning post of the year! What a great way to start it off. I spent the week studying a course by Von Glitschka. Here’s what I came up with:

Dragon Illustration

“Dragon Named Christian” This was started from a sketch my cousin left behind on Thanks Giving. I was lucky enough to spend the holiday with him just having a cool drawing session.

****

This week answered so many questions I had about Vector drawing. Questions that I thought were dumb because nobody could answer me =D Now I see they were just as lost as I was. I remember asking a teacher in design school “How do I know where the best places to put anchor points is?” She told me “After a while you just know.” I guess she was kinda right but Von Glitschka goes over that with his “Clockwork Method” and “Prime Point Placement”. THERE IS A METHOD TO THE MADNESS I would have rather studied these methods than just guessing and getting better at guessing as time went on. Now I have the chance to do that.

There’s more to it. I always wanted to learn the whole process and after 10 years I finally got to see an outline of the WHOLE process done by a PRO. FINALLY! Confirmation on techniques helped me work with confidence. Like, “hey, I do that too.”

****

Illustrator dragon drawing

Dragon in Ouline Mode After watching this course, the biggest difference I felt was confidence. I didn’t feel like I was feeling around in the dark, I had a plan. You can see my cousin Christian’s drawing as a template in the center and some of the rest in the navigator.

****

The entire Drawing Vector Graphics course is going to make me a better Illustrative designer but not just in Adobe Illustrator, but in all areas. He covers drawing it out all the way through to presentation. From snout to tail =D
I was excited about this video because I first heard of Von Glitschka a couple weeks ago while watching a video by Astute Graphics. In the video Nick mentioned “Von Glitschka’s method of vector drawing”. It sounded so badass, I practiced saying it a couple times =D … then I thought “that guy must be a great vector artist. I should look him up… Na” I was too lazy to do it!!! =D … then my friend Chana Messer sent me a tweet telling me to check out this video. IT WAS MEANT TO ME =P It’s cool how it all came around. I should have just Googled him but I’m glad I didn’t miss out even though I was LAZY! If you’re not a Lynda.com member, sign up for a month and just watch this video 10 times it’s worth it!

****

1 color illustration dragon

Dragon finished Illustration in 1 color. I really liked how it came out. There’s still a bunch of adjustments to be made but I thought this looked good for a first quick run.

****

The Coolest Thing I Learned:

I can’t even pick. I was blown-away by the whole thing. So I’m just going to go with Keyboard Shortcuts!

Ctrl+Alt+A to select everything on the Artboard
Ctrl+Alt+L to create a new layer below current layer

I’m always trying to learn new ones to help out my workflow. People always say it’s too many to learn. Focus on 1 a week and in a couple of months you’ll be zooming through your work. At the end of the day we’re all trying to get more done in less time and keyboard shortcuts do help you increase productivity.

****

If you’re new to my blog, it’s kinda like if I didn’t know how to swim. Then I spent all week studying-up on swimming, watching it on TV, reading about it, talking to friends about it, going to meet-ups about it, etc. then on the last day, I jump in the pool and tell you all about my experience =D

****

I got most of my info from Lynda.com:
Drawing Vector Graphics with Von Glitschka
The section I focused on was “Building Vector Shapes”

Illustrator CS6 One-on-One: Intermediate with Deke Mcclelland
“Layers and Groups”

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly #WSLS
If you look up #NSL77 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.

One response to “N.S.L: WEEK 77 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: Drawing Vector Graphics

  1. The other day, while I was at work, my sister stole my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a thirty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

Leave a Reply

