N.S.L: WEEK 76 – Adobe After Effects CS6: 1st try Text Animation

This is a whole new world! I’m definetly in the production side of Adobe=D Even the keyboard shortcuts are VERY different but some what related. It’s understandable, Web family has a different set too. I’ve mainly been in the Design apps so I thought it would take some getting use to. It’s like most apps, once you get in there and start pushing some buttons, you start to get the hang of things.

****

Magenta ramp screen shot

Ramp Background

“WTF is a RAMP???” apparently its a gradient =D I only point that out because it was hard to understand all the new terms. There’s also a RAM Preview that has nothing to do with Ramps and I thought they did for a while =D

****

Workspace and timeline

I applied some presets then made adjustments to them.

I was thinking this would be the only way to actually make something that looks cool. I feel weird doing something so stuffed with presets but they help get you started. I ran into a problem that my background wasn’t animating after 5 seconds. It took me a while to realise that I needed to set additional “Evolutions”. The cool thing is, it makes sense.

When you’re trying to preview what you’re doing, I’m finding using the “0” on the extended # keypad. I tried just hitting Space Bar and it was really frustrating.

****

Editing music in Ae

Adding and editing music

****

I think After Effects is making sense to me because I tried out Edge before it was Edge Animate. I can really see how people can get hooked on it. I like that it’s only linking to other files so everything is non-destructive. I was able to get around real easy and I didn’t have any major freakouts. I ended up just spending a BUNCH of time just trying to decide what I wanted to do. I kept trying new things. I’m going to visit this app again soon! I might have caught the bug.

****

I wanted to have my final post of the year be a big one for me and it was. Adobe After Effects was always the most intimidating app in the Suite to me. I’m glad I tried it out and if you’ve been thinking about trying it out, GO FOR IT! Same goes for any app in the Suite. Through the year I had a couple first with some apps and had a great experience.

****

I got most of my info from Lynda.com:
After Effects CS6 Essential Training

and thanks to my Twitter friend @sPECtre:
www.CreativeCow.net

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly #WSLS
If you look up #NSL76 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.

2 responses to “N.S.L: WEEK 76 – Adobe After Effects CS6: 1st try Text Animation

  1. Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog. Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Cheers

    • I started by posting on Pictures with captions on Tumblr. Once I got comfortable with that, I move over to WordPress. I’d say find one you think looks like a good fit, then study up on it. I used Lynda.com but I’m sure you can find information on youtube and google… You don’t have to be too technical. Just take it one step at a time. Learn as you go and make adjustments as you see fit.

Leave a Reply

