N.S.L: WEEK 74 – Adobe Photoshop 13.1 CS6: “New Features” Non-Destructive Blur Gallery, Bokeh, Smart Object, Gradient Map, etc.

Adobe’s timing was perfect for me with this Photoshop upgrade. Photoshop 13.1 has the ability to apply a blur effect on Smart Objects. I recently started using the new Blur Gallery and I would wish that it wasn’t a distructive effect. NOW IT ISN’T!!! =D

Photo by Sebastian Bleak- Night City

Applied Field Blur, Bokeh, Gradient Map, Photographic Toning, Crop Tool, Text Effects, and it’s all FULLY editable/ Non-Destructive on a Smart Object!!!

Part of the reason I wanted to try out the Bokeh Effect was because I don’t know how to describe it to my friends =D I figured now I can just refer them to this page.

****

Origingal- ACR

Here’s the original shot in Adobe CameraRAW

****

Screen shot of Gradient Mapping

Here’s what it looks like with the Gradient Mapping applied to the image. I highlighted the Smart Object layer that has the Field Blur applied to it. It is not visible in this screen shot.

****

Yellow Flower- HDR

I had to do something with the Iris Blur as a Smart Filter. It’s a WAY better way to work.

****

Yellow flower in ACR

This is the original shot of the flower before I made any adjustments.

****

Iris Blur flower with Smart Filters

This is almost the final look, but I wanted you to see the layers panel with the Smart Iris Blurs. I also wanted to show what a HUGE difference a crop can make to the way an image feels.

****

Coolest Thing I Learned:

Smart Blur Gallery obviously! But the not so obvious would be the Hot Key for switching from Landscape to Portrait and back is “X” when you’re using the Crop Tool.

This was also a good practice in making something extremely basic look REALLY cool by just getting creative and not being so literal with my images. I wouldn’t normally blur out a street shot to the point of only being able to see some dots for lights. I also was told that HDR on flowers isn’t the best idea because they get kinda grungy but I like the grunge that came with it.

****

I got most of my info from Lynda.com
Create Now Keynote
Photoshop CS6 New Features
Photoshop CS6 for Photographers New Features

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
If you look up #NSL74 you should be able to follow my week and all of the videos I studied for this one.

4 responses to “N.S.L: WEEK 74 – Adobe Photoshop 13.1 CS6: “New Features” Non-Destructive Blur Gallery, Bokeh, Smart Object, Gradient Map, etc.

    • Wow that’s so cool to hear! =)
      I really appreciate you taking the time to check out my “studies” I always wonder if people ever actually READ the post or just past by quickly =D
      Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

