N.S.L: WEEK 73 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: Combine Techniques- Swirl, Art Brushes, Flourish, Decorative, etc.

So, I feel like I have to step my Adobe Illustrator CS6 game up. I want to make pieces that look like they have more character. I feel I can achieve this by combining techniques.

Sebastian Bleak Title Card

Custom Seamless Tile Pattern and Custom Flourish/Design Elements

****

Custom Art Brushes for Adobe Illustrator

The entire piece was based off of these basic shapes and art brushes. This was the start of it all

****

Custom background with design elements

Using the new pattern maker, trying to get it just right.

****

Watch-Out for the COLOR!!!

Illustrated Flowers in Ai

Each flower is a mixture of different techniques combined for a cool result. Most were done using Blend, Bloat, Pucker, Shape Tool, and Pencil Tool.

Screen shot in Outline Mode

I wanted you to be able to see all the work the Appearance Panel is doing on this one.

****

Most of my NSL entries have been about focusing on 1 area, tool or technique. On this one, I wanted to mix everything up. I made art brushes, patterns, blends, graphic styles, basic shapes, multiple appearances, etc. I’m happy with it even though I think the flowers came out the best =D I’m really proud of the flourishes though. That is one of the main reasons I wanted to use Illustrator.

****

Coolest Trick I Learned:
Applying art brushes to the spiral tool and arch tool! Wow! It was in front of my face the whole time LOL!

****

I got most of my info from Lynda.com
Chana Messer: Presentation at our Adobe User Group meeting
Vector Swirls, Swooshes, and Florals: Illustrator Tutorial

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
If you look up #NSL73 you should be able to follow my week and all of the videos I studied for this one.

2 responses to “N.S.L: WEEK 73 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: Combine Techniques- Swirl, Art Brushes, Flourish, Decorative, etc.

  1. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appearance. I must say that you’ve
    done a very good job with this. In addition, the blog loads super fast for me on Firefox.
    Superb Blog!

    • Thanks for the feedback. It means a lot because I wanted to keep it simple to navigate and quick to load =D I just used a template that looked clean. It should have the creators contact info on there some place. Let me know if you need help finding it.

Leave a Reply

