N.S.L: WEEK 72 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: Merge to HDR Pro

This is one I’ve been itching to try out for MONTHS!!! High Dynamic Range is gaining popularity especially with Faux HDR or HDR Toning Apps/Filters. I wanted to learn the real way by merging multiple exposures in Adobe Photoshop CS6 to get more detail and a true High Dynamic Range.
(Below) Gas Mask by: Freehand Profit

HDR Photo Edits by Sebastian Bleak art piece by Freehand Profit

My first crack at HDR under really great circumstances. With a Normal Dynamic Range, you would not get all that detail in the “nose” or canister area. I also had some fun with the new blur gallery =D

Making a cool HDR image from multiple exposures isn’t as tough as we think it sounds. You HAVE to open your manual and read it. Read it again. Read it again. Then read it some more until it makes sense. That’s what I had to do and I’m so glad I did. Last week I did not know how to program my camera to take 3 different exposures as a cycle, I didn’t know how to make it take 3 shots with 2 click, and I didn’t even know how to set it to shoot in RAW. Now I know and I got so much power because of it!!! =D Now that I have it set-up, I can shoot HDR whenever I need to and I won’t have to bug my buddies to do it for me =D

****

Before- Photo of rainy alley by Sebastian Bleak

Normal Dynamic Range: Before Adobe Photoshop CS6

Rainy Alley Photograph by Sebastian Bleak

High Dynamic Range: After Adobe Photoshop CS6 “Merge to HDR Pro” and some subjective edits to end up with this develop

****

I’m HOOKED!!! I find these a lot of fun to shoot and develop. I LOVE contrast so I went nuts on this one, I got detail just to chuck it =D

Gasmask by Freehand Profit shot by Sebastian Bleak

Normal Dynamic Range: Before Adobe Photoshop CS6

HDR Shot and Edited by Sebastian Bleak Gas Mask by Freehand Profit

High Dynamic Range: After Adobe Photoshop CS6 “Merge to HDR Pro” and some subjective edits to end up with this develop

****

Coolest Tricks I Learned:

Had to be setting up the camera for Bracketing and a 3 shot burst with 1 click. That’s WAY over my head. I’m not a Photographer. I’m a Designer that needs to take some photo’s.

On the Adobe side it was probably in Adobe Bridge. I found the “Stacking” function (Ctrl+G) to be really helpful in keeping things organized. Just another thing I should incorporate into my workflow.

****

I got most of my info from Lynda.com:
Shooting and Processing High Dynamic Range Photographs (HDR)
Photo Workshop: Portrait of an Exotic Car

I also used information that I got from attending seminars in the area put on by:
Colin Smith- Photoshop Cafe
Scott Kelby- Kelby Training

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

More photo’s of Freehand Profit’s artwork:
Army of the Undead Stock

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly
If you look up #NSL72 you should be able to follow my week and all of the videos I studied for this one.

2 responses to “N.S.L: WEEK 72 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: Merge to HDR Pro

Leave a Reply

