N.S.L: WEEK 71 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: Character Styles

What a powerful tool that I NEVER use. Shame on me =D

Character styles for Illustrator CS6

I got all the text laid out how I wanted for this one first. “Creating Character Styles” to use later

vicious breed (Sin Sessions LP 2008) by 13th Sky

Lyrics for Frontline

After I had my Character Styles setup, it was SUPER easy to make this next one. Just highlight and click! The cool thing is I can go back and do all the songs so they can have this same look or I can save the styles to use on up coming songs. It’ll look uniform and I can do it FAST

+13th Sky+ Frontline by 13th Sky

****

Drawings for composition

I spent the majority of my time working on these guys. I had fun using the Blob Brush and Pencil tool.

****

Setting the Character style

Once you have your text set how you like it, you can save down the style in the Character Style Panel. Just click the “new” icon and your good to go!

****

Adding Character Styles

Now you can see my panel is loaded with new styles. I pasted in the lyrics from my “notepad” and this is the part where I just highlight and click to dress this up how I want it.

****

I look at it as Actions for text or Styles in Photoshop. I was always a lil fuzzy on them until I saw Justin Seeley USE them. It helps me to see, then do, then learn how to do it right =D

Coolest Trick I Learned:
Reset Tracking/Kerning to Zero “Ctrl + Alt + Q” This is one I didn’t know about and it’s gonna help me out imensly! I also learned the keyboard shortcut for changing your font “Ctrl+Shift+Alt+F”

****

I got most of my info from Lynda.com:
Illustrator CS6 Essential Training
Illustrator CS6 One-on-One: Fundamentals

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #GetMuddy #StayFly
If you look up #NSL71 you should be able to follow my week and all of the videos I studied for this one.

Leave a Reply

