N.S.L: WEEK 70 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: New Feature- Video

Gas Mask Shoes Machete

Video in Adobe Photoshop CS6 is a handy tool for simple videos. I decided to torture myself and do something complex =D This was the first vid I did with Ps and I didn’t do a good job on the export but it’s a good first run:

****

I went CRAZY with Adjustment Layers and I learned kinda late in the game that the best way to stay organized is using Smart Objects. The biggest tip I can give you besides getting an Nvidia Card and tons of RAM, is preview your video without the sound so it could load in your Cashe. If you don’t see that blue line on your Timeline, you’re not seeing the real thing. On the bottom left of your screen you’ll see a set of numbers that will switch from green to red while playing back. Green is when you’re on time with the video. I saw a lot of red until I added a Scratch Disk to my machine.

****

Here’s my second shot at what I had in mind for Freehand Profits video. I only got 2 of 5 parts I wanted to do so I should be adding more soon:

****

Coolest Trick I Learned

This was the first time I used a “Scratch-Disk” and it was a big help. Without it, I was averaging 16-20fps. With it, I SAW GREEN, just not all the time =D I was averaging 26-29fps.It always sounded complicated to me but it really isn’t. Just plug-in your external HD before launching PS. In Ps bring up your preferences and under performance check the box next to your drive. I put it on the top of the stack thinking it will access that first.Photoshop takes care of the rest =)

****

I haven’t had a chance to do the before and after screen shots because I ended up doing ANOTHER  video:

And another!!!

****

I got most of my info from Lynda.com:
Editing Video in Photoshop
Artistic Video With Photoshop

Video Keyboard Shortcuts: Julieanne Kost’s Blog

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #GetMuddy #StayFly
If you look up #NSL70 you should be able to follow my week and all of the videos I studied for this one.

Leave a Reply

