N.S.L: WEEK 66 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: Text Effects

I wasn’t sure which direction to go with my studies this week until I got the bright idea to study something I actually enjoy, TEXT EFFECTS! Here’s what I came up with in Adobe Photoshop CS6:

Gray text "Black and White"

“Gray”
Masking text in Adobe Photoshop CS6

If you want to see how I made the piece above, read it here–> Just For Fun 02102013

****

Fat Chance Crew title card

Type Poster – Fat Chance Crew
All vector shapes in Photoshop CS6 and I added a lighting effect

****

Stay Focused eye test blurry

This was the first one I did. Just playing off of the eye test vibe.

****

I ended up trying to mirror some of Nigel French’s examples. It was a fun practice. It reminded me of some design classes I took. Trying out techniques that other people demonstrate helps break me out of my normal patterns. Usually with text in Photoshop, I’ll throw a bunch of layer effects or some 3D at it. Now I got some new tricks up my sleeves.

****

Coolest trick I learned this week was creating a path from a selection. Once you have you selection, right click and choose “Make Working Path”. It’s a feature I looked for but couldn’t find…. Well, there’s more! Keyboard shortcuts for your text alignment. When your text is highlighted, you can use:

CTRL + SHIFT + C= CENTER ALIGN
CTRL + SHIFT + L=LEFT ALIGN
CTRL + SHIFT + R= RIGHT ALIGN

****

I got my info from Lynda.com:
Photoshop for Designers: Type Effects
Photoshop CS6 One-on-One: Intermediate

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #GetMuddy #StayFly

2 responses to “N.S.L: WEEK 66 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: Text Effects

Leave a Reply

