N.S.L: WEEK 61 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: Route CS6 Secrets- Cinematic Effect

I got a chance to check out Photoshop Cafe’s “Route CS6 Tour” in Los Angeles.  At the end of the seminar, Colin Smith had a section full of Photoshop secret recipes. A couple caught my attention and I couldn’t wait to try them out. Here’s what I came up with:

Cinematic Effect photo of west los angeles by Sebastian Bleak

Here’s my result after trying out the technique I learned at the Route CS6 Tour

After straightening my image, adding noise and lil contrast, I created an Adjustment “Color Lookup” Layer. WOW! I didn’t even know about this until I saw Colin demo it at this event. I went with “FuturisticBleak.3DL”. It’s a cool look that I’ve tried to get manually, thousands of times =D MORE POWER

****

Original image by Sebastian Bleak

****

“Color Lookup” Layer Adjustment using the “Futuristic Bleak” preset

This is something that they added in CS6. Color Lookup is an adjustment layer that allows you to change the color/overall feel of your image. I also heard you could make more preset or use presets from Adobe Speed Grade. I can’t wait to try that out too!!!

****

Adding a vignette using the Lens Correction filter

I’m finding out that there are dozens of ways to create a vignette for your images. This was the first time I tried it using the Lens Correction Filter. My first impression is that it’s great for something subtle and quick. In the example I put up, I over exaggerated it to make sure you knew it was there.

****

Because this was the first time I was trying out this effect, I made sure to leave everything fully editable. I used smart objects and smart filters for EVERYTHING. If I look at this image 2 days later and decided I want it to have less noise, I’ll just double click on the noise layer smart filter and give the slider a lil push until I like the look of it. It’s a great safety net for me. I’m super OCD at times so I like to make thousands of slight adjustments  =D it just depends what day it is.

****

Keyboard shortcut of the week:
New Composite Layer Ctrl+alt+shift+E

****

I got all of my info from :
Photoshop Cafe

****

Checkout my:
Tumblr
Website

Leave a Reply

