N.S.L: WEEK 56 – Adobe Photoshop Blend Modes and Displacement Maps

I finished this off with some color overlays and blend modes from the contrast group.

2 things I realized right off the bat, Blend Modes is a HUGE topic and Displacement Maps are as effective as they are Old School =D
The first time I used one was in Photoshop 5 and today I’m using Photoshop 13. I never really looked too much into them. I learned one recipe from a tutorial and never looked back. Now I have a better understanding of them and I’m sure I’ll put them to better use.

Original image of some brick wall near my job.

To save on file size, I added a layer adjustment but left the sliders at 0 then I set it to the Liner Light blend mode. That gave the wall some contrast. Above it I added a blue layer fill and set the blend mode to Hue to cool it down some.

****

The text above has a gel layer style with the Displace filter added to the wall. I was trying to make it look like the gel is distorting your view of the wall beneath it.

****

In this version I applied a luminance mask so it looks set into the wall but the edges were still clean. Adding a displacement effect to the text gave me a realistic finish to my text.

****

I got most of my info from Lynda.com:
Photoshop Masking & Compositing: Advanced Blending
Photoshop CS5 One-on-one: Advanced

****

Checkout my:
Tumblr
Website

Leave a Reply

