N.S.L: WEEK 50 – #Adobe #Illustrator #CS6 #Pattern #Brush

The Pattern Brush in Adobe Illustrator is one of those “Design Magic” tools. I’ve always wanted to learn this technique but I didn’t even know what tools to look up for tutorials. I finally found it and here’s what I learned to do with it:

I used the Pattern Brush in Adobe Illustrator CS6 to write out my name with shoe laces.

I’ve faked this look before, but it’s great being able to do it right. This way would allow me to make any edits I want.

Design 1 didn’t work out for me. I like the look of it, but because of all the appearance effects, I kept hitting road blocks.

I started thinking I bit off more than I can chew on my first run. I broke it down to a more basic design until it started doing what I wanted it to =D

Design 2 looks a lot cleaner but it has it’s limitations. Still, for my first run at it, I’m feeling it.

I tried playing around with the brush a little using my mouse, but once I broke out my Intuos4 it really started acting better. The big thing was I didn’t create any corners for my pattern brush. Anytime the corners get tight, you see a big empty space. Baby steps, I’ll get there =D

****

What Started It?

I’m working on a CD cover that calls for an illustrated barbed wire fence. I wanted to have TOTAL control and the ability to make changes on the fly. I Googled “barb wire illustrator” and found a link to the Adobe Exchange for Illustrator Brushes- Barbed Wire. I downloaded it then started to pick the file apart to see HOW DID THIS DOOD MAKE THIS?!?! After a bunch of double clicks and a lil investigation, I found out it was a Pattern Brush and I was OFF! BEAST MODE HUNT for tutorials on the Pattern Brush. Once I get that one looking good, I’ll post a link to it here.

****

On Jan. 15, 2015 I published a video on how to create this brush. I’d like to share that with you below:

****

I got a bunch of my info from Lynda.com: Illustrator CS5 One-on-One: Mastery “Brushes”

To see my Never Stop Learning posts as photo gallerys: Sebastian Bleak Tumblr

****

WWW.SEBASTIANBLEAK.COM

Leave a Reply

