N.S.L: WEEK 37 – Ps Channels, Selections, and Masks

Photo’s by: Gary “Freehand Profit” Lockwood. Aside from a crop, addition of text, and a lil shadow, this is basically what Gary sent me when I told him I needed some pix for my Channels exploration. GOOD LOOKIN OUT GARY!!!

I went to a LAPUG meetup and Stephen Burns called me a WUSS!!!… well, not me directly =D What he said was “the Refine Edge is for wusses.” For NSL wk30 I did some study on Refine Edge and thought I was doing big things. I FEEL what Stephen Burns was saying. It’s kinda like a quick short cut and we should learn the correct way instead of cheating. I’ll keep using the Refine Edge, but I MUST learn the right way of doing things first. Stephen Burns had a mantra of sort. Photoshop is all about “…Channels, Selections, and Masks”.  Of those 3, I know the least about Channels so I guess that’s the best place to start. On 03-26-2012 I started watching hours and hours of videos on Lynda that had the word “channel” in it, then practicing what Deke was talkin bout.

1st I tried out the “Industry Standard” for Blk&Wht images. Apparently the RGB Channel values I put in there are the same values first used for Blk&Wht TV. I thought that alone was super cool, using old school but proven techniques.

2nd I took what I learned in the 1st image and tried to make a Pro Sepia Tone using a Density Mask to Multiply in the color.

3rd I kept using what I was learning along the way, trying to bring you on my journey =D. In here I went to work with a bunch of Density and Luminance Masks, Extreme “Pro” Sharpen, and Gradient Maps to get that colorization.

I kinda went backwards, by accident cuz I really had no clue what I was doing. I learned about the Channel Mixer before understanding Alpha Channels. I feel like I just scratched the surface on this subject of Channels. I see many more hours of practice ahead of me but it’s the best way to work that I’ve seen so far… Thank you  Stephen Burns for making me want to step my game up and thank you Alvy Ray Smith for coming up with the equation that makes it all possible: aA + (1-a)B

I got to do all of this in Photoshop CS6 and I think I’m ready to make the switch. I even got a chance to use the new Oil Paint Filter on the homie AK

WWW.SEBASTIANBLEAK.COM | WWW.FREEHANDPROFIT.COM | WWW.ZODIAKKILLA.COM | What’s N.S.L?

Leave a Reply

