Just 4 Fun: 01282013 Adobe Photoshop CS6 New Features and Retouching

When I was working on NSL80, I ran out of time and didn’t get to retouch 1 of the pictures…. I found some time and here it is! JUST 4 FUN!!!

Adobe Photoshop
This is Freehand Profit, retouched =D

****

What I really like about my J4F projects is that it really solidifies the techniques I just learned the week before. On this run, I felt as though I had more freedom than I did for NSL80. If you notice, I was able to get more creative with this photograph than the last one. I feel that the more you learn about your tools, the less hang-ups you’ll have dealing with technology and you can JUST CREATE!!! Get to the fun stuff!!! =D

BTW, my text, can be edited! Parametric design all the time!!!! I can’t really think of any destructive techniques here. Maybe I’m too cautious but I’ve been burned.

****

Photoshop CS6 New Features

Before and after comparison. I find these help bring the point home.

****

I think I made great use of this snap shot. I shot this pic as Freehand Profit was leaving my office. No real lighting set-up and that’s just a door behind him. If you don’t have access to GREAT photo’s, just work with what you got. Get more creative with it. Become more effective by practicing on your retouching. It’s best to start off with a good picture but sometimes you just gotta make it work for you.

****

As for new features that I used, you can clearly see the Bokeh effect in the back which is new to CS6 but I applied it to a Smart Object with is only available to Creative Cloud members for Adobe Photoshop 13.1. Initially I cleaned up his face a tiny bit with the Spot Healing and Healing brush. I love being able to apply them to a different layer which allows me to work non-destructively. There’s tons of old school tricks too. I made several adjustments using luminance masks, saturation masks, density masks, etc. They’re very subtle but effective.

****

Adobe Photoshop Masks
Masks used throughout this project.

Gary told me how important it was that the Eight and Nine logo came out so I created different types of masks just for them so it could look FRESH! I had to show you what some of the masks looked like. They don’t look pretty but some of the ugliest masks make the best masks. That is not a B&W of Gary, it’s a mask. I created that one to make targeted adjustments to only the highlights of the image using Adjustment Layers.

****

I got most of my info from:

Julieanne’s 5 Favorite Features in Ps 13.1 Exclusively for Creative Cloud Members

Lynda.com:

Photoshop CS6 for Photographers New Features
Photoshop CS6 Essential Training

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly #WSLS
If you look up #AdobeGrind you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.

3 responses to “Just 4 Fun: 01282013 Adobe Photoshop CS6 New Features and Retouching

  1. Pingback: Learn Adobe Photoshop CS6 and InDesign CS6 Training Video Tutorial DVD | canadian software online

Leave a comment