N.S.L: WEEK 80 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: New Features 13.1 Creative Cloud

We got some great new toys to play with, for retouching, in Adobe Photoshop’s CS6 update. Now we even got an early taste of what’s to come if you’re signed up to the Creative Cloud. I wanted to just run through a couple using a random shot I took in my backyard:

Haiku dandelion photoshop

Haiku by Ktweed

Dandelion Haiku

After taking the new retouching tools for a spin I had an image of a dandelion. I figured “I gotta do something with this” and you see above what I got =D

****

Dandelion in grass photograph

Original shot of the dandelion.

****

Adobe Photoshop CS6 13.1

A couple new features for Photoshop CS6

I started out by trying out the Content Aware Move Tool. If you look at my layers, you can see that it fits my subject to its new location and covers up its tracks. Some people really bash this tool, but it has it’s place. I was able to get 95% of the move done in about a minute… Not Bad!

I also wanted to point out the BackGround Save. Both are New Features to Photoshop 13.

****

Creative Cloud Adobe Photoshop 13.1

Liquify on a Smart Object is a new feature for Adobe Photoshop 13.1 which is available to Creative Cloud members

Liquify Smart Objects was what I really wanted to play with. I just really like the applications of Smart Objects so that I can work nondestructive. This feature was added for Creative Cloud Members, Photoshop 13.1. This application was pretty subtle. I just wanted to dandelion to stretch out a lil bit so he could be the star of the show.

****

Tilt Shift blur

The ability to apply a Tilt-Shift Blur was added for Photoshop CS6 and now for Photoshop 13.1, you can apply that filter to a Smart Object

I got to play with this feature a couple weeks back on NSL74. The ability to add a Tilt Shift Blur to a Smart Object was added for Photoshop 13.1 For me, the Blur Gallery allows you to add focus to your subject. I will admit I see it used WAY too much so I try to be subtle with mine. I kept it kinda heavy on this one because I wanted to make sure you see it.

****

Most of the videos I found had info on portrait retouching. I’m going to have to devote a whole NSL to it soon but I did this fast run with the Healing Tools

Photo

Snap shot in the dining room to give this a test run.

****

Retouching

After trying out the Healing and Spot Healing Tools in Photoshop CS6

There were some moles that she was concerned about and those went away fast then I worked on the laugh-lines using the Healing brush. All of this was non-destructive because I was able to make the adjustments on a different layer and I kept the original image as a Smart Object. You can now “Sample All Layers” and that makes this technique possible.

****

I got most of my info from:

Julieanne’s 5 Favorite Features in Ps 13.1 Exclusively for Creative Cloud Members

Lynda.com:

Photoshop CS6 for Photographers New Features
Photoshop CS6 Essential Training

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

Twitter:
@SebastianBleak
#AdobeGrind #StayMuddyGetFly #WSLS
If you look up #NSL80 you should be able to follow my week, all of the videos I studied for this one, and other Tweets related to this post.

6 responses to “N.S.L: WEEK 80 – Adobe Photoshop CS6: New Features 13.1 Creative Cloud

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard work due to no back up.

    Do you have any solutions to prevent hackers?

    • Not yet, hackers are always a concern. I tell everybody to plan for it because it’s going to happen. I would hire somebody to look over my site and make sure I back up all of my work in 3 different places. Hackers are smart and they just keep getting smarter. Best of luck!

  2. Pingback: Adobe’s Photoshop CS6 is Free, for Now! - completedigitalproducts.com : completedigitalproducts.com

  3. I will right away take hold of your rss as I can
    not find your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Kindly permit me understand so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

