N.S.L: WEEK 65 – Adobe Illustrator CS6: Gradient Mesh

I’ve always been intimidated by the Gradient Mesh Tool in Adobe Illustrator. I studied up for a week and this is what I was able to do with it:

Vector Apple with Gradient Mesh in Adobe Illustrator CS6

Above is my 4th attempt at using the Gradient Mesh Tool in Adobe Illustrator CS6 but my 2nd attempt at a red apple illustration.

****

Eggplant Illustration Gradient mesh tool in Ai CS6

This was my 3rd illustration using the Gradient Mesh Tool in Ai CS6. I was really happy with how the curve in the highlight came out. I was most worried about the stem but I think it looks pretty good.

****

Vector gradient mesh fruit Ai CS6

Here are all my attempts at the Gradient Mesh Tool together. I wanted you to notice the first and final illustrations. It’s of the same apple but I wanted to show my progression.

****

Adboe Illustrator Gradient Mesh tool

Same image as above, but I wanted to call attention to the paths themselves and show that it is still a vector illustration.

****

Coolest trick I learned this week while studying this tool was that you could use the Warp Tool to make adjustments to your mesh. Since it is a mesh with many points, it’s easier and more initiative for me to us the Warp Tool for some edits.

I got to see a bunch of the basics come together for this one. Even though it was a Gradient Mesh study, I mainly used the Direct Select, Eye Dropper, and Pen Tools the most.

****

Most of the projects you find on this page are my first runs at tools or techniques. With eLearning the way it is today I think you can learn how to do just about anything for free online. You just have to be willing to look for the information… I’m STILL TRIPPIN OUT how cool these came out. I know I still got a LONG way to go but not bad for a first sesh =D

Got most of my info from:

Quarrie Franklin:
His YOUTUBE Page
Most Helpful Video

Lynda.com:
Illustrator CS5 One-on-One Mastery

TV.Adobe.com:
Gradient Mesh Tool

Youtube was great for this. I found a large community of Gradient Mesher’s =D Just look it up and check out the related videos. You just might find some gems.

****

NEVER STOP LEARNING WEEK 75
Gradient Mesh “Metal Finish”

****

Checkout:
SebastianBleak.Tumblr
www.SebastianBleak.com

#AdobeGrind #GetMuddy #StayFly

Leave a Reply

